Jump to content

Aikey takes point lead to Quad City Speedway for July 18 Deery show


Recommended Posts

Aikey takes point lead to Quad City Speedway for July 18 Deery show


EAST MOLINE, Ill. (July 16) – There will be a new name atop the point standings when the Deery Brothers Summer Series travels to Quad City Speedway for a Wednesday, July 18 show.


Jeff Aikey finally caught Mike Murphy Jr. in the IMCA Late Model tour point race after the 13th of 20 events this season on Sunday at Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway. The six-time series champion will take a seven point advantage over Murphy to East Moline.


Pit gates open at 4:30 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5 p.m. for the second annual Hershel Roberts Memorial. Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m. Spectator admission is $15 for adults, $10 for kids ages 6-12 and free for youngsters five and under. Pit passes are $25.


The main event pays $2,000 to win and a minimum of $250 to start.


Roberts, a former Late Model driver, had owned the car driven by two-time defending series and IMCA national champion Ray Guss Jr.


Guss won last year’s memorial, becoming the 12th different driver to win one of the 13 Deery races held at Quad City. The only repeat winner has been Rob Toland, in 1998 and 2004.


The series is at the Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway in Des Moines on Monday, Aug. 13. The 400th event in series history will be the Pepsi USA Nationals on Saturday, Sept. 1 at 34 Raceway in West Burlington.


Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings


1. Jeff Aikey, Waterloo, Iowa, 600; 2. Mike Murphy Jr., Colona, Ill., 593; 3. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, Iowa, 586; 4. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill., 561; 5. Jay Johnson, West Burlington, Iowa, 554; 6. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, Iowa, 546; 7. Justin Kay, Wheatland, Iowa, 536; 8. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin, Iowa, 535; 9. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, Iowa, 520; 10. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, Iowa, 511; 11. Colby Springsteen, Wapello, Iowa, 385; 12. Jeff Mitrisin, Oskaloosa, Iowa, 370; 13. Gary Webb, Blue Grass, Iowa, 309; 14. Dean Wagner, Evansdale, Iowa, 281; 15. Doug Yates, Monticello, Iowa, 266; 16. Dan Shelliam, Hazel Green, Wis., 260; 17. Luke Goedert, Guttenberg, Iowa, 256; 18. Nate Beuseling, Silvis, Ill., 242; 19. Jason Utter, Columbus Junction, Iowa, 216; 20. Kurt Kile, Nichols, Iowa, 213.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...