Jump to content

O’Neal slides to Terre Haute Action Track DIRTcar Summer Nationals vic


Recommended Posts

O’Neal Slides to Terre Haute Action Track DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory


Terre Haute, Ind. - July 12, 2012 - Don O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., captured his first DIRTcar Summer Nationals win of 2012 Thursday night at the Terre Haute Action Track worth $5,000.


O'Neal used a strong restart on lap 20 to tail leader Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., before making a lap 22 pass for the lead when Sheppard slipped over the cushion exiting turn two.


"Turns one and two were rough getting in and it was hard to hit your line every time," analyzed O'Neal. "Right before the yellow flag we kind of got a run on him and I knew we had a shot there if we could stay out of the lapped cars."


"We got the job done though, after the way we've struggled. My guys have worked really hard and it's paying off."


Sheppard struggled to navigate the treacherous turn two cushion over the next few circuits eventually allowing current Hell Tour point leader Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., by. Shirley settled for second behind O'Neal who distanced himself over the races final eight circuits. Sheppard was third with Frank Heckenast Jr., of Frankfort, Ill., in fourth. Defending DIRTcar Summer Nationals Champion Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., rounded out the top five.


Shirley's point lead was extended to 76 markers over Babb. The 2012 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour wraps up with a visit to Attica Raceway Park in Attica, Ohio on Friday night for a $5,000-to-win race followed by the finale at Oakshade Raceway in Wauseon, Ohio for the $10,000-to-win Birthday Race.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Terre Haute Action Track; Terre Haute, Ind.; July 12, 2012 A-Main (30-laps): 1. Don O'Neal ($5,000), 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Frank Heckenast Jr., 5. Shannon Babb, 6. Bobby Pierce, 7. Ryan Unzicker, 8. Jason McBride, 9. Joe Janowski, 10. Tim Lance, 11. Duke Mounce, 12. Lee Thomason, 13. Rob Starkey, 14. Mike Spatola, 15. Jason Feger, 16. Shane Cottle, 17. Jerry Lierly, 18. Dennis Erb Jr., 19. Nick Bartels, 20. Russ Adams, 21. Marvin Burton, 22. Butch Kruckeberg. Fast qualifiers (among 22 cars): Pierce, Shirley, Erb. Heat race winners: Sheppard, Shirley, Erb.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...