Jump to content

USMTS National Championship Series debuts at Lakeside this Friday


Recommended Posts

USMTS National Championship Series makes long-awaited debut at Lakeside Speedway on Friday the 13th


KANSAS CITY, Kan. (July 8) – For thousands of race fans, Friday the 13th in July is their lucky day.


One of the most anticipated events in the history of the Lakeside Speedway is just five days away as the United States Modified Touring Series makes its debut at the legendary dirt oval in Kansas City, Kan.


Now in its 14th season of delivering the planet’s most popular and competitive open-wheel dirt modified events featuring the undisputed best of the best drivers in the sport, this will be the first time the series has invaded Marc and Page Olson’s popular 3/8-mile dirt oval.


In addition to the USMTS National Championship Series waging a battle for a $5,000 winner’s share of the prize money, the Beebe Heating & Air Conditioning Summer Sizzler presented by Arbor Masters will also feature the high-energy Iron Man Challenge featuring USRA B-Mods. Local Factory Stocks will also be in action.


Defending USMTS National Champion Ryan ‘The Reaper’ Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, leads the series points heading into the weekend, as the 21-year-old sensation looks to add Lakeside Speedway to his growing list of conquests.


Speed-hungry race fans can also expect to see a huge field filled with the nation’s best-known Modified aces, including nine-time USMTS National Champion Kelly Shryock of Fertile, Iowa; 2010 titleist Jason Hughes of Watts, Okla.; and 2007 champ Jason Krohn of Slayton, Minn.


Other marquee names expected to fill the pit area are Rodney ‘The Rocket’ Sanders, Johnny and Stormy Scott, Dereck Ramirez, Chris Brown, Chase Junghans, Zack VanderBeek, Mike Sorensen, Terry Phillips, Bryan Rowland, Rick Beebe, Jeremy Payne, Ron Keith, Austin Siebert, Ryan Ruter, Brandon Davis, Randy Timms, Mark Dotson and others, plus Dirt Knights stars Jon Tesch, Al Hejna and Corey Dripps.


But the touring pros will face a tough challenge in their efforts to take home most the prize money from a tough field of Lakeside Speedway Friday night regulars such as three-time track champion Chad Lyle, two-time track champion Tim Karrick, Cody Agler, Joe Walker, Nic Bidinger, Darron Fuqua, Kerry Davis, Jake Richards, Luke Driskell and many others.


Thanks to events sponsors, an additional $1,000 has been added to the published purse. Of that amount, $500 will go to the highest-finishing driver that has never won a USMTS event, while $300 goes to the second-best finisher and $200 for the driver finishing third among those with no previous USMTS victories.


Gates will open at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, July 13. Hot laps begin at 7:00 and the first heat race gets the green flag at 7:30.


Officials have announced that fans can take advantage a one-day advanced ticket sale in order to head-off possible long lines at the ticket window on race day. Call the USMTS office at 515-832-7944 between 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. on Monday, July 9, to get your tickets in advance.


General admission grandstand tickets are $20, kids ages 6-12 are $5 and children 5 and under get in for free. Seating in the VIP Suite is also available for $30. Pit passes are $35.


The Lakeside Speedway is a 3/8-mile slightly-banked dirt oval located 1.0 mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City, Kan.). The track hotline is 913-299-2040 or check them out the track’s official website at www.lakesidespeedway.net.


Bookend events will take place on Thursday, July 12, at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo., and Saturday, July 14, at the Salina Highbanks Speedway in Salina, Okla.


To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit www.usmts.com online or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/ustmts and follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/usmts.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...