Jump to content

Anderson wins as titans clash in World Products Stock Car Shootout


Recommended Posts

Anderson takes checkers as titans clash in World Products Stock Car Shootout at Alta


ALTA, Iowa (July 2) – Round one of the IMCA World Products Stock Car Shootout went to a driver who’s already been there and done that.


Jeff Anderson led past midway of the Monday night special for IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars at Buena Vista Raceway. After falling out of the front spot, he stayed close enough to capitalize when Brian Blessington got sideways and take the $1,000 checkers.


Winner of the inaugural Shootout feature in 1996 as well as the 1998 event, Anderson was chased across the stripe by Damon Murty, defending series champion Donavon Smith, David Smith and Blessington.


Anderson led the first 13 of 25 circuits before Murty drove by. A caution followed on the next lap and Anderson got the point back when Murty slid high on the restart.


Blessington, meanwhile, had qualified from a “B” feature and flew from 17th starting into the top five by lap nine; he was in second on lap 15 and needed just three more trips around the track to pass Anderson for the point.


What proved to be the final caution came with three laps left and Blessington restarted ahead of David Smith, Anderson, Donavon Smith and Murty.


Disaster struck as the leader was coming to take the white flag. Blessington spun but was able to get straightened out and avoid bringing out the yellow. He managed to salvage fifth place, behind the opportunistic Anderson, Murty and the Smiths.


Combined, the top five finishers own more than 700 IMCA career feature wins in the class. Murty won the Shootout title in 2006 and 2010 and Blessington reigned in 2008.


The second of three Stock Car Shootout races is Tuesday, July 3 at Marshalltown Speedway. Both the Stocks and Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods race for $1,000 to win, with IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Mach-1 Sport Compacts completing the program.

The grandstand opens at 5:30 p.m. Hot laps are at 7 p.m. with racing to follow.


Southern Iowa Speedway at Oskaloosa hosts the Shootout finale on Wednesday, July 4.


Other feature winners during Monday’s Kyle Suter Memorial program at Alta included Chris Abel­son in the IMCA Modifieds, Devin Smith in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, Austin Lucas in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and Megan Lappegard in the Mach-1 Sport Compacts.


While Iowa and Wisconsin dominated the 34 entries in the Stock Car field, they were joined on the track by Aztec, N.M.’s Travis Sutherlin.


Feature results – 1. Jeff Anderson, Atlantic; 2. Damon Murty, Chelsea; 3. Donavon Smith, Lake City; 4. David Smith, Lake City; 5. Brian Blessington, Breda; 6. Stefan Sybesma, Sanborn; 7. Steve Meyer, Grundy Center; 8. Randy Brands, Boyden; 9. Jeff Wollam, Marshalltown; 10. Jay Schmidt, Tama; 11. Larry Karcz Jr., Pulaski, Wis.; 12. Chris Ullrich, Kiron; 13. Bill Reetz, Carroll; 14. Dustin Smith, Lake City; 15. Allan Schmidt, Holstein; 16. Matt Mahoney, Pierson; 17. Mark Stanley, Storm Lake; 18. Dale Woodard, Elkhorn, Neb.; 19. Mathias Lux, Hartley; 20. Robert Stofer, Jefferson; 21. Josh Suhr, Albert City; 22. Trent Murphy, Jefferson; 23. Michael Murphy, Jefferson; 24. Jay Brannan, Odebolt.


1st heat (top four) – 1. Reetz; 2. Jay Schmidt; 3. David Smith; 4. Karcz.


2nd heat – 1. Murty; 2. Dustin Smith; 3. Donavon Smith; 4. Suhr.


3rd heat – 1. Anderson; 2. Wollam; 3. Woodard; 4. Bran­nan.


4th heat – 1. Brands; 2. Michael Murphy; 3. Stanley; 4. Lux.


1st “B” feature (top four) – 1. Blessington; 2. Allan Schmidt; 3. Ullrich; 4. Mahoney. 2nd “B” fea­ture – 1. Trent Murphy; 2. Meyer; 3. Sybesma; 4. Stofer.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...