Head Gasket Question

chrisdavid

We think we blew a head gasket on Saturday night. We got hot and lost a lot of water. When we got home we started the truck and realized we were pouring out a lot of water out of 1 exhaust, along with a lot of white smoke. We didn't find any water in the oil and the plugs look good. I'm thinking the gasket could be leaking straight to the exhaust.

Does this sound right?

If so, How in the heck do I change the head gasket on this 305. I'm not a mechanic, but would like to do it myself. Please help so we can get back to racing in Houston on the 4th.

Thanks,

Chris David

#52 Pro Truck

Cell 832-731-3890

It's possible you blew a head gasket but it is more likey that you cracked the head.Drain the water pull the header remove the intake .take off the rocker arms then the head bolts.If you don't see where the head gasket blew take the head to your machine shop and let them pressure test it .

Chilton guides are an easy read and follow for instructions on the R&R - you just won't have all the crap a street car has. Get one for an older (pre 84) chevy truck and it will be most relevant.