Oh Geesh!

CC57

Getting the car ready to take to the track tomorrow and ... what's this?! :blink: Water leaking out of the 2nd head stud from the rear on the Dart Aluminum head above #8. :(

AAAArrrggg!! :angry::angry:

OK, I'm no engine expert. What's y'alls prognosis; thread sealer not holding, blown gasket, cracked head, ....?

Thanks for your analysis.

Now, where's that bottle of Jack Daniels....

if its just leaking from around the bolt, id say just reseal the bolt. As long as there is no water in the cylinder or in the oil then the gasket and head are fine.

Firs of all , thanks for yrou reply.

Now that I've stepped away and the heart rate has gone down a bit, I'm attempting to analyze the situation.

Couple of questions:

1) What's your thought of draining some of the water out of the radiator and checking to see if there's any oil in it. See if the water looks fairly clean. I figure this might help me figure out if there is a bigger problem or not. Yours or anyone's thoughts on this?

My concern is, are there internal studs (under the valve cover, under the intake manifold) that are leaking too, but I can't see them.

2) Keeping in mind ths is an aluminum head on a high compression (~13.5:1) engine, can I just remove one stud, apply the sealant, and retroque? Or do I need to back off the nut on all the studs and retorque in the proper sequence?

Thanks again

Pull both valve covers and all spark plugs - put 15-20 lbs air pressure to the water system and look for seepers.