Jump to content

HOT Speedway unveils 2010 Wall of Fame inductees

Recommended Posts

HOT Speedway unveils 2010 inductees


By Brice Cherry Tribune-Herald staff writer


Elm Mott, Texas (Monday, April 26, 2010) - A pack of 10 of Central Texas’ most successful race car drivers took the checkered flag into eternity Sunday.


The Heart O’ Texas Speedway inducted 10 non-active drivers to its new Wall of Fame at a special ceremony at the race track. Eight of the 10 honorees attended the festivities, while two others — Joe Sturdivant and Eldon Dotson — were inducted posthumously.


The inaugural class includes:


• Gordon Woolley — This Waco driver began his career at the Suicide Bowl, once winning 17 straight feature events. That success never slowed, as he claimed numerous track and series titles in a 43-year racing career, including the 1967 Tri-State Championship in Hutchison, Kan.


• Bill White — The IMCA rookie of the year in 1966, White dominated the modified division at the HOT Speedway in the early 1970s, winning 43 feature races over a three-year span. Among his favorite races in a 40-year career was competing in the 1966 Little 500 in Indianapolis, Ind.


• Roy Ewing — Known as “Rapid Roy,” this Moody driver claimed nine track championships and more than 200 feature wins in 31 years of racing. Ewing closed out his run in style, winning the 2005 Fall Classic in his final race.


• J.T. Carpenter — Carpenter, who will turn 97 next Saturday, won races at the Suicide Bowl and the original HOT Speedway, among other Central Texas tracks. A native of Coolidge, he also won a 100-lap open race at the current HOT Speedway.


• Bud Jarosek — In 15 years of competing in Waco, Jarosek won six championships and more than a hundred feature races. Jarosek took the 1962 Texas State Dirt Track Championship, lapping defending champion Bill White three times in the 100-lap race.


• Eldon Dotson — Dotson regularly made the drive from his hometown of Allen to compete at the HOT Speedway. He forged a successful quarter-century career that included two career starts in what is now the NASCAR Sprint Cup series.


• Henry Witt Jr. — One of the most dominant IMCA Modified drivers in the nation, Witt amassed the most feature wins in the shortest time span in the 27-year history of that class of car. Witt tallied more than 250 feature wins, eight straight regional championships, six state titles and one national championship.


• Joe Sturdivant — In 38 years of racing, Sturdivant won more than 260 feature events and 28 track championships. He also was a highly successful car owner, and his wing modified car driven by Paul White was one of the most successful in the history off the series.


• Bo Rawdon — Now a successful track promoter, Rawdon was once a dirt-track driving star, tallying more than 500 feature wins and 35 championships in 30 years of racing. In 1990, he won the NASCAR Sunbelt Region Championship.


• Dale Breedlove — In three decades of racing, this Waco driver picked up more than 20 feature event wins at the HOT Speedway in addition to 90-plus wins at various other tracks around the country. A versatile driver, he competed in modifieds, wing modifieds and super modifieds at various times.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Wtg Henry Witt jr. I always loved watching him race. No matter what track he was at. No matter where he started. No matter how many cars, he always put on a great show. He's an amazing driver!!! And is missed at the track by all his fans from all over and that includes me!

It would be great to see him behind the wheel of his ole mod again. That's for sure.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...