Jump to content

Earl Pearson perfect in WoO Late Model go in Virginia


Recommended Posts

Pearson Perfect On Opening Night Of Inaugural Commonwealth 100 Weekend At Virginia Motor Speedway


JAMAICA, VA - April 16, 2010 - Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla., was perfect on Friday night at Virginia Motor Speedway, setting fast time and winning a heat race to open the inaugural 'Commonwealth 100' weekend.


A banner field of 56 cars assembled for the blockbuster World of Outlaws Late Model Series event, which is highlighted by Saturday night's 100-lap A-Main that carries a $25,000 top prize from a total purse approaching $125,000.


Pearson, 38, flexed his muscle on Bill Sawyer's pristine half-mile oval, putting himself in position to sweep the weekend if he can capture the Commonwealth 100. His lap of 17.197 seconds (104.669 mph) in Ohlins Shocks/Massey Energy Time Trials was nearly three-tenths of a second faster than runner-up Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., and he led the first of six 15-lap heat races from start-to-finish.


Driving the Bobby Labonte Motorsports MasterSbilt car, Pearson fended off several challenges from Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., to cop the preliminary. He will go for his third career win at VMS on Saturday night, but first in WoO LMS competition.


Also winning heat races were Lanigan, WoO LMS points leader Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y., Chris Madden of Gaffney, S.C., Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., and Rick Eckert of York, Pa. They will join Pearson on Saturday night in a redraw for the top six starting positions in the Commonwealth 100.


Madden, who won last year's 50-lap WoO LMS A-Main at VMS, scored the most hard-fought victory of the evening. He dueled for the lead with defending WoO LMS champion Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., for nearly half the distance before finally muscling in front on lap 10.


Covert, meanwhile, was the night's most fortunate racer, escaping an opening-lap tangle that damaged his car's right-rear corner to win the fifth heat over two-time World 100 champion Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn. Covert has never won a WoO LMS A-Main but has finished as high as fourth in a tour event at VMS.


The evening's most significant incident occurred on the second lap of the fourth heat after 2008 WoO LMS Rookie of the Year Vic Coffey of Caledonia, N.Y., got sideways off turn two, collecting Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills, Pa., 2009 WoO LMS Rookie of the Year Russell King of Bristolville, Ohio, and Roland Mann of Chaptico, Md. Mann's car executed a slow rollover after hitting King, but Mann – and all other drivers involved – escaped the crash uninjured.


Two B-Mains, the 30-lap 'Rumble on the River' Non-Qualifiers (paying $3,000 to win) and the Commonwealth 100 will comprise Saturday night's racing program.


Competitor gates will open at 3 p.m. and spectator gates will be unlocked at 4 p.m. There will be a BB&T 'Meet and Greet' autograph session with the WoO LMS drivers from 5-6 p.m., and on-track activities will begin at about 6:30 p.m. with hot laps.


A raindate of Sun., April 18, has been established for the event, which will include pre- and post-race ceremonies featuring Civil War reenactors.


Saturday-only general admission is $40 (adults) and $15 (children 7-12).


Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a half-mile dirt oval located on U.S. Route 17 in Jamaica, Va., eight miles north of Saluda and 25 miles south of Tappahannock. The speedway, which boasts spacious 8,000-seat aluminum grandstand, beautiful sponsor suites, Mucso lighting, a pit area treated with a tar-and-gravel mixture and over 20 acres of parking, is just a short drive from the Richmond, Fredericksburg, southern Maryland and Hampton Roads areas.


For more information about the Commonwealth 100, visit www.vamotorspeedway.com or call the speedway office at 804-758-1VMS.


Additional info on the WoO LMS is available by logging on to www.worldofoutlaws.com.


Ohlins Shocks/Massey Energy Time Trial Results (Position/No./Driver/Hometown/Best Lap):


1. 44p-Earl Pearson Jr./Jacksonville, FL 17.197

2. 29-Darrell Lanigan/Union, KY 17.433

3. 39-Tim McCreadie/Watertown, NY 17.448

4. 1-Josh Richards/Shinnston, WV 17.457

5. 43A-Jason Covert/York Haven, PA 17.498

6.24-Rick Eckert/York, PA 17.532

7. 49-Jonathan Davenport/Blairsville, GA 17.576

8. 6-Steve Shaver/Vienna, WV 17.577

9. 57J-Bub McCool/Vicksburg, MS 17.601

10. 9-Dan Schlieper/Sullivan, WI 17.616

11. 3-Brent Robinson/Smithfield, VA 17.645

12. 15b-Brian Birkhofer/Muscatine, IA 17.654

13. 6L-Jamie Lathroum/Mechanicsville, MD 17.674

14. 28M-Jimmy Mars/Menomonie, WI 17.676

15. 7H-Darryl Hills/Great Mills, MD 17.701

16. 44M-Chris Madden/Gaffney, SC 17.736

17. 20-Jimmy Owens/Newport, TN 17.738

18. 1*-Chub Frank/Bear Lake, PA 17.752

19. 19H-Austin Hubbard/Seaford, DE 17.786

20. 15-Steve Francis/Ashland, KY 17.801

21. 41-Brad Neat/Dunnville, KY 17.808

22. 32c-Vic Coffey/Caledonia, NY 17.811

23. 25-Shane Clanton/Locust Grove, GA 17.840

24. 2-Brady Smith/Solon Springs, WI 17.844

25. 19T-Tim Fuller/Watertown, NY 17.858

26. 44-Clint Smith/Senoia, GA 17.861

27. 00H-Chuck Harper/Beverly, WV 17.932

28. 22s-Gregg Satterlee/Rochester Mills, PA 17.966

29. 19d-Ronnie DeHaven Jr./Winchester, VA 17.979

30. 1m-Jeremy Miller/Gettysburg, PA 18.010

31. 17M-Dale McDowell/Chickamauga, GA 18.021

32. 21d-Dan Stone/Thompson, PA 18.025

33. 23-John Blankenship/Williamson, WV 18.035

34. 55-Roland Mann/Chaptico, MD 18.066

35. 99z-David Zona/Montrose, PA 18.109

36. 8M-Mark Pettyjohn/Milton, DE 18.116

37. 87-Walker Arthur/Odenton, MD 18.135

38. 24W-David Williams/Charlotte Hall, MD 18.168

39. 70J-D.J. Myers/Greencastle, PA 18.191

40. 14x-Dean Bowen/Whiteville, NC 18.234

41. 45-Mark Byram/Georgetown, DE 18.251

42. 0-Dale Hollidge/Mechanicsville, MD 18.259

43. 14-David Taylor/Fayetteville, NC 18.307

44. 119-Jimmy Bernheisel/Lebanon, PA 18.312

45. 92-Stephen Evans/Tyner, NC 18.419

46. 22G-Jill George/Cedar Falls, IA 18.528

47. 22F-Chris Ferguson/Mt. Holly, NC 18.620

48. 25z-Mason Zeigler/Chalk Hill, PA 18.658

49. 119B-Bryan Bernheisel/Lebanon, PA 18.743

50. 8P-Jeff Pilkerton/Loveville, MD 18.787

51. 7R-Ross Robinson/Georgetown, DE 18.861

52. 56-Russell King/Bristolville, OH 18.882

53. 8H-Mason Price/Roanoke Rapids, NC 20.285

54. D8-Dustin Mitchell/Princeton, NC N/T

55. 88-Ricky Elliott/Seaford, DE N/T

56. 7s-Gary Stuhler/Greencastle, PA DQ (light)


Drivers who pre-entered but did not attend event: Matt Lux, Keith Jackson, Rick Hulson


Heat No. 1 (15 laps – Top 3 Transfer): Pearson, Davenport, McDowell, Lathroum, Hubbard, Fuller, Arthur, B. Bernheisel, Taylor (DNS) Elliott


Heat No. 2 (15 laps – Top 3 Transfer): Lanigan, Shaver, Francis, C. Smith, Mars, J. Bernheisel, Stone, Stuhler, Williams, Pilkerton


Heat No. 3 (15 laps – Top 3 Transfer): McCreadie, McCool, Neat, Hills, Myers, Harper, Evans, R. Robinson, Blankenship


Heat No. 4 (15 laps – Top 3 Transfer): Madden, Richards, Schlieper, Coffey, Bowen, George, Satterlee, King, Mann


Heat No. 5 (15 laps – Top 3 Transfer): Covert, Owens, B. Robinson, Clanton, Zona, Byram, Price, Ferguson (DNS) DeHaven


Heat No. 6 (15 laps – Top 3 Transfer): Eckert, Birkhofer, B. Smith, Frank, Miller, Hollidge, Mitchell, Zeigler (DNS) M. Pettyjohn

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...