The Business of Racing

jwmbishop

I opened this thread to create a sounding board and resource for those that truly ARE in the business of racing or those that wish to be. This is one of my pet representations. I am an Enrolled Agent - EAs are the ONLY profession allowed by the IRS to represent the taxpayer that are granted that auth by passing an IRS administrered test that covers ALL areas of US income taxation! Even the highly regarded CPA may be well trained on double entry books - but that does NOT mean he is authoritative on the Tax Code. EAs read the Tax Codes like most people read the newspaper!

Many folks ARE in racing as a business and leave losses on the table out of a lack of understanding how to model the operation to withstand the hobby loss scrutiny of the IRS. Conversly some try to meet the business rules while they are truly in it as a hobby. Either way cost the taxpayer $$$!

Hopefully everyone is aware of the ramifications of claiming your racing to be a business - IRS scrutiny usually determines it's a hobby and then losses are limited and can not exceed the actual earnings of the hobby. (A business can allow a loss to apply against other incomes - W2 included). Usually this determination is based on the taxpayer not being able to fully explain the "business" part of it and making statements that seem to support the arguement but actually help the IRS!

To open I will lay out the three basic rules for it to be a business:

1. Must be PROFIT motivated

2. Must be conducted like a business (separate books, business plan, marketing etc)

3. Must have reasonable expectation of profitability when compared to total earnings (if 98% of your time is earning wages its harder - but not impossible - to claim that 2% of your time is expected to be more profitable).