Jump to content

Texana Sets Recort Attendance at Banquet

Recommended Posts

This year, after reviewing big event calendars extending into December, Texana Raceway Park for the first time ever moved the annual awards banquet to January. Having never tested the water with a banquet in January, the management was pleasantly surprised with the large turnout for what turned out to be a fantastic banquet. Over 180 attendees filed through the doors at the Hafernick Center within the Brackenridge Park at Lake Texana, out side of Edna.


The evening started off with a catered BBQ meal, and was followed by drawings for door prizes. In the mix were some incredible door prizes. Pairs of new Racing tires were given away. Twenty-five gallons of racing fuel were given away, along with raceceivers, batteries, and a whole host of great door prizes provided by several generous donors and the track ownership combined.


The order of events consisted of trophies being provided to the top three in each class and a nice jacket, plus a bonus framed picture provided to each class champion. Two special awards picked by the track ownership were also provided which were "Most Improved" and "Rookie of the Year". And, finally, the much anticipated and closely guarded fan voted "Favorite Drivers" were awarded. A few class champs also won favorite driver, and Hot Stock Truck 2009 phenomenon, Greg "Joe" Turner walked away with an unprecedented three awards as a class champ, favorite driver and owner's pick as most improved.


Paul White was the first ever two class champion at the raceway, and banquet attendees were treated to Paul's father, the legendary Bill White attending the banquet. Anyone who has followed dirt track racing in Texas knows, that it would hard equal the accomplishment of the two combined.


Owner, Bruce Tesch also announced the more specific plans for 2010, and utilized the opportunity to squelch all rumors associated with the raceway. Tesch has hired long-time flagman Ken Bulsterbaum to serve as track operator in 2010.


A summary of award winners followed by some select pictures provided courtesy of Brenda Dancer "Dancer Motorsports Photos" follows below:


Class Points Champions:

Mini-Stock - Zachary Tesch

Texana Classic Dwarfs - Andrew Cline

Texana Bombers- Chris Shafer

Hot Stock Trucks- Greg Turner

Super Stocks - G W Hessong

Limited Modifieds - Paul White

Modifieds - Paul White


Fan Voted Favorite Drivers:

Mini-Stock - Lauren Chamberlain

Texana Classic Dwarfs - Douglas Schmidt

Texana Bombers - Janet Perks

Hot Stock Trucks - Greg Turner

Super Stocks - G W Hessong

Limited Modifeds - Mickey Helms

Modifieds - Paul White


Most Improved

Greg "Joe" Turner


Rookie of the Year

Brad Wright


Limited Modified and Modified Champion, and fan voted favorite modified driver, Paul White; along with his father the legendary Bill White



Super Stock Champion and fan voted favorite driver, G W Hessong along with son Jason



Hot Stock Truck Champion, fan voted favorite driver, and track owner's pick for Most Improved, Greg "Joe" Turner



Texana Bomber Track Champ, Chris Shafer



Texana Classic Dwarf Champ, Andrew Cline



Mini-Stock Class Champ, Zachary Tesch




Track Owner's pick for Rookie of the Year, Brad Wright


Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...