New dirt racer - need help

By nature I'm a driver who is forced into being a mechanic so please bear with my ignorance, but I have two issues on my car that I could really use some advice with. Any help at all would be appreciated!

Overheating - At the first of the season we were ok (running about 170 - 190) but now with these 100deg. plus days we've been pushing 250 +. Already blown a head gasket and warped the heads and I'm pretty sure the heat warped my metering block on my carb. I am running a stock water pump, a racing radiator, and of course water with some water wetter. I've heard theories on a high flow water pump to push more water, but also heard about putting restrictors to keep the water in the radiator longer? The two seem to contradict each other to me?

Ride Height - I need to raise my front end about 2". I've been told that wether I make a spacer to go between the spring and the tower or I just go the easy route of buying a spring rubber I will get the same result, but both will change the spring rate? What's the best way to make the adjustment?

My biggest problem on both is that I run in two seperate classes - at I37 I run street stock and at SOS I run pure stock, so I am needing to figure something out that either requires minimum or no changes to be able to go from one to the other (so that cuts out spring jacks in the front for example).

Again... any help at all will be appreciated!

I had similar problems with my 351W. We had to run a gutted thermostate and changed to Purple Ice. I normally run between 175-190. In the summer I run about 195-220. I run a stock water pump. Purple Ice really seemed to make the most differance. I didn't follow the directions as far as the amounts go, I simply poured in the entire bottle. The oil we use also seemed to make a differance in engine temps.

Adding spring rubbers to a spring increases the wheel rate (that part of the spring rate that the tire "feels") of that spring.