Jump to content

TPS Returns to CC Speedway


Recommended Posts

Texas Pro Sedans Return to CC Speedway


After a four year absence from the Corpus Christi stock car racing scene, the Texas Pro Sedans (TPS) touring series returns to CC Speedway (CCS) in Corpus Christi, Texas on Saturday night, July 11.


The 2009 season marks the Texas Pro Sedans 34th consecutive year of four cylinder stock car racing in the southwest. The event will be the sixth 2009 TPS season race and will be held on the CCS ¼ mile asphalt oval. CC Speedway is a 15 degree banked asphalt track.


Texas Pro Sedans Series Race and Administrative Director, Neil Upchurch has announced an official paid, pre-entry list of 27 TPS drivers and cars to date. CC Speedway Owner Dan Monroe said, “I am pleased to have such a large field of Texas Pro Sedans coming back to our track to race on July 11. TPS has raced at CC Speedway many times in past years. Our fans will be treated to highly competitive racing by the fast TPS cars”.


The Texas Pro Sedans racing program will consist of 2 laps of Qualifying Time Trials. The fastest TPS driver will attempt to break the Texas Pro Sedans qualifying track record at CC Speedway of 15.370 seconds which was recorded by Donnie Moore of Hutto, Texas on July 9, 2005 in a VW Scirocco. A Last Chance Qualifying Race will be held if necessary. The 30 lap Feature Race grid will be based upon the results from Qualifying Time Trials and the Last Chance Qualifying Race. Two TPS point standings provisional positions will fill grid slots 19 and 20.


The TPS races will compete under Texas Pro Sedans rules and procedures in which yellow flag laps are not scored. The TPS races will be manually scored by a combined CCS and TPS staff. A green-white-checkered flag is required to officially finish a TPS race under full racing conditions regardless of the number of attempts.


Included in the official entry list are all drivers who have won TPS feature races during the first five races of the 2009 Texas Pro Sedans season:


The first race of the TPS series season was held at Thunderhill Raceway on April 11, 2009. The winner was Tom Johnson of Kingsland, Texas in his #15 Ford Mustang. Johnson also won at Red River Speedway in Wichita Falls, Texas on May 23. It was the shortest feature race in 34 years of TPS racing when the race was called official due to rain after 8 laps.


On April 25, the second TPS season event saw Mike Merrell of Kingsland, Texas win the feature race at Thunderhill Raceway in Kyle, Texas. The third race of the TPS series season was also held at Thunderhill Raceway on May 9. The winner was again Mike Merrell. On May 24, the fifth TPS race saw Merrell win the feature race at Red River Speedway in the second half of the Memorial weekend event. He will drive the George Merrell #70 VW Scirocco. Currently, Merrell is locked in a points tie with Johnson for the TPS championship.


Six time TPS Champion Bill LaBarge of Bryan has filed entry for his #27 BMW “Beamer”. He won the TPS Championship in 1992, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2003 and 2004. No other driver has dominated the Texas Pro Sedans series championship as has Bill LaBarge. LaBarge is currently ranked 3rd in TPS points standings.


The defending TPS Champion, Sergio Hexsel of Live Oak, Texas has filed entry for his new #20 VW GTI. Hexsel also won the TPS Championship in 2005 and 2007.


Corpus Christi area TPS drivers include: #26 Lalo Leal, # 2 Johnny Guerra, #9 Bobby Burrows , #28 Lisa Sandoval, #73 Cody Limerick, #99 Steven Carpenter, #31 Jesse Sandoval Jr, and #17 G.B. Carter of Harlingen.


In addition to the Texas Pro Sedans event, a full racing program will feature all three CC Speedway class races which will also highlight the July 11 race night schedule. Grandstand ticket prices - $10 adult ($2 discount Seniors, Military and Students). Children under 12 receive FREE admission.


For further information regarding this News Release, contact the Texas Pro Sedans Office at 210/655-3222,

or by Email message to: neilupchurch@sbcglobal.net


For schedule and ticket information call CC Speedway at 361/289-8847 or visit - http://www.ccspeedway.biz/

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...