Jump to content

Lights go out, opening night interrupted at Spring Nationals

Recommended Posts

Lights go out, opening night interrupted at Spring Nationals


BEATRICE, Neb. (March 20) – The lights went out before the final checkered flag flew on opening night of the Spring Nationals special at Beatrice Speedway.


As a result, Friday’s program will be completed during a Saturday session set to start at 5 p.m. The scheduled show will follow.


The 2009 season lidlifter boasted 124 IMCA Modified from 11 states and Saskatchewan and 42 Karl Chevrolet North ern SportMods from six states. Modified qualifying was done and the first of three Northern SportMod “B” fea tures was in the books late Friday when the track lights went dark.


Track officials elected to postpone the rest of the program and have repairs made during the day on Saturday.


Jay Noteboom and five-time Spring Nationals winner Johnny Saathoff will start on the front row when the Modified feature goes green. Dave Trauernicht, twice a Spring Nationals winner, will line up behind Saathoff.


The postponed Modified feature pays $1,000 to win, while Saturday’s scheduled race pays $1,500 and the Sunday feature is good for $2,000. All three are Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifying events.


Both postponed and scheduled Northern SportMod features pay $500 to win. IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks also race for $300 to win tonight and Sunday.


Sunday’s show also features IMCA Mach-1 Sport Compacts in a $200 to win feature.




1st heat (top four) – 1. Dylan Smith, Osceola; 2. Jon Snyder, Ames, Iowa; 3. Justen Yeager, Green River, Wyo.; 4. Reese Coffee, Hinton, Iowa.

2nd heat – 1. Randy Brown, Chowchilla, Calif.; 2. Jordan Grabouski, Beatrice; 3. Josh Gilman, Earlham, Iowa; 4. Bubba Alvarado, Kersey, Colo.

3rd heat – 1. Jay Noteboom, Hinton, Iowa; 2. Jeff Ignaszewski, Wells, Minn.; 3. Brent Schlake, Blue Springs; 4. Chris Alcorn, Lincoln.

4th heat – 1. Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice; 2. Allen Kent, Minot, N.D.; 3. Clint Homan, Bellevue; 4. Chris Abelson, Sioux City, Iowa.

5th heat – 1. Dave Trauernicht, Beatrice; 2. Tyson Turnbull, Estevan, Sask.; 3. Scott Styskal, David City; 4. Brad Moriarty, Des Moines, Iowa.

6th heat – 1. David Murray Jr., Oberlin, Kan.; 2. Stacey Mills, Webb, Iowa; 3. Ryan Fjeil, Stromsburg; 4. Will Brack, Mead, Colo.

7th heat – 1. Chase Junghans, Manhattan, Kan.; 2. Stacey Wilhelm, Martell; 3. Robert Brinkman, DeWitt; 4. Chris Burk, Friend.

8th heat – 1. Mark Elliott, Webster City, Iowa; 2. Adam Larson, Ames, Iowa; 3. Ricky Stephan, South Sioux City, Neb.; 4. Jeremy Frenier, Fort Morgan, Colo.

9th heat – 1. Jeremy Mills, Garner, Iowa; 2. Ronnie Wallace, McCook; 3. Josh Carpenter, Diller; 4. Larry Go ertz, Omaha.

10th heat – 1. Jake Durbin, Perry, Iowa; 2. Ben Seidler, Underwood, N.D.; 3. Jordy Nelson, Marysville, Kan.; 4. Sean Jerovetz, Sobieski, Wis.

11th heat – 1. Grant Junghans, Manhattan, Kan.; 2. Dan Nelson, Beatrice; 3. Bob Zoubek, Dorchester; 4. Dar ren Shaw, Kearney, Mo.

12th heat – 1. Ricky Alvarado, Delta, Colo.; 2. Nick Deal, Walnut, Iowa; 3. Jason Schoenberger, Gorham, Kan.; 4. Jacob Anson, Albion.


1st “B” feature (top four) – 1. Grabouski; 2. Snyder; 3. Yeager; 4. Coffee.

2nd “B” feature – 1. Ignaszewski; 2. Alcorn; 3. Troy Cordes, Raymond, Iowa; 4. Matt Brack, Mead, Colo.

3rd “B” feature – 1. Greg Metz, Washington, Kan.; 2. Will Brack; 3. Nate Caruth, Ames, Iowa; 4. Moriarty.

4th “B” feature – 1. Larson; 2. Burk; 3. Kyle Vanover, Beatrice; 4. Stephan.

5th “B” feature – 1. Carpenter; 2. Seidler; 3. Jeff Meeker, Northglenn, Colo.; 4. Wallace.

6th “B” feature – 1. Nelson; 2. Zoubek; 3. Deal; 4. Schoenberger.


Feature Lineup

1st row – Noteboom and Saathoff.

2nd row – Mills and Trauernicht.

3rd row – Durbin and Smith.

4th row – Elliott and Murray.

5th row – Chase Junghans and Brown.

6th row – Grant Junghans and Alvarado.

7th row – Grabouski and Ignaszewski.

8th row – Metz and Larson.

9th row – Carpenter and Nelson.

10th row – Snyder and Alcorn.

11th row – Will Brack and Burk.

12th row – Seidler and Zoubek.


Northern SportMods

1st heat (top four) – 1. Austin Lucas, Story City, Iowa; 2. Nick DeLeeuw, Orange City, Iowa; 3. Brady Schoen, Downs, Kan.; 4. Jesse Sobbing, Glenwood, Iowa.

2nd heat – 1. Max Harder, Blue Springs; 2. Tyler Frye, Belleville, Kan.; 3. Gary Saathoff, Beatrice; 4. Josh Blumer, Marysville, Kan.

3rd heat – 1. Dan McKeighan, Carter Lake, Iowa; 2. Jim Hendricks, Council Bluffs, Iowa; 3. Danny Vavra, Platteville, Colo.; 4. Chris Nolan, Spencer.

4th heat – 1. Luke Wanninger, Jefferson, Iowa; 2. Frey Leytham, Garwin, Iowa; 3. Dustin Schmidt, Fairbury; 4. Jason Nelssen, Beloit, Kan.

5th heat – 1. Damon Murty, Chelsea, Iowa; 2. Brett Meyer, Lytton, Iowa; 3. Brian Kosiski, Omaha; 4. Laini Schwartz, Omaha.

6th heat – 1. Chad Borgman, Beatrice; 2. Benji Legg, Beatrice; 3. Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay, Wis.; 4. Denny Berghahn Jr., Plattsmouth, Neb.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...