FIRST TIME TO TRACK

da6212

I AM TRYING TO DECECIDE WEATHER OR NOT TO GO TO YOUR TRACK ON OPENING NIGHT. I HAVE NEVER BEEN THERE BEFORE. CAN ANYONE LET ME KNOW WHAT THE TRACK IS LIKE. I AM FAIRLY NEW TO THE SPORTSMOD AND I HAVE ONLY RACED FIVE TIMES ALL AT RIO GRANDE SPEEDWAY. iF SOMEONE WHO HAS RACED BOTH CAN GIVE ME SOME IDEAS ABOUT HOW THE TWO COMPARE AS FAR AS THE ACUTUAL RACE TRACK IS CONCERN WOULD BE GREAT. THANKS

Paper-cliped shaped long 1/4 mile. Tight flat corners. Track is usually very smooth, but the norm is to go very dry, slick (actually, very very slick)

Haven't been back this year, but it tends to be a bit dark (that is, lack of lighting) in the corners.

The pit area is nice (especially this early in the season as there is still probably plenty of grass).

The people that run the show seem nice enough. And the show progresses well, that is, they get the show in in the minimum amout of time.

Another plus: at least once while I was there, the features rained out, but they payed a full purse to each class that didn't get to run the feature. Most classes just evenly divided the purse amongst themselves. A very nice gesture on the track's part.

Check your safety rules against theirs. Hate to see you make the haul and not be able to run. Probably wouldn't hurt tho give them a call for any clarifications you might need.

Also, unless they've changed transponder brands, it cost me more to run there than other transponder-mandated tracks. Each week was $55 for my entry/pit pass/transponder rentals.

Hope this helps

From a track prep and how you are treated you wont be dissappointed. By far the best track I have been to over the last several years. Place is always very clean and smooth. It does get dry at times but its always smooth. Have good brakes. There is alot of good racers you should enjoy racing against. Most definetely you want to give them a try. Good Luck...

I AM TRYING TO DECECIDE WEATHER OR NOT TO GO TO YOUR TRACK ON OPENING NIGHT....