naskarts higher speeds

HELLO GUYS AN GIRLS. AFTER LOOKING AT THE RED RIVER RACE. I HAVE DECIDED TO LOOK INTO SOME TYPE OF ROLL CAGE. WE ARE NOW TRAVEL AT SPEEDS THAT COULD KILL IF A WALL WAS HIT JUST RIGHT. I KNOW THAT MARTY HIT TE WALL AT RED RIVER AN THE WALL SUCKED HIM IN. IT WANT BE AN ELABRATE CAGE,BUT ONE THAT COULD BE EASLY GOTTEN IN AN OUT OF,MAYBE THROUGH THE TOP.IT WILL ATTACH TO OUR CURRENT FRAMES. i'LL WORK ON A COST ALSO. TRYING TO KEEP IT INEXPENSIVE. AS FOR THE RED RIVER RACE, I THOUGHT YOU GUYS DID A GREAT SHOW DESPITE BLOWING 4 ENGINES. I'LL KEEP YOU UPDATED ON PROGRESS. MEAN WHILE ,BE GETTING READY FOR A GOOD SHOW SAT NIGHT AT THUNDERHILL. LATER... BEANER.......

Roy,

I have the tubing bender to bend roll cages. I've been building cages for about 5 years and can get something done for these karts, for sure. I would need to buy the die for the tubing we need. But thats no problem. It should be an 1 1/2 tubing. That should C-notch right over the exisiting frame.

If I could get a bare frame, I could build the cage. It would bolt together. I think I could make it a slip joint style cage, with tubing that slides over the end stubs of the frame. The cage would probably be about 400 dollars. I think a simple sprint style cage with a side bar would work best. Let me make a drawing and post it up.

Ok, here we go:

post-3-1213244082_thumb.jpg

I know this is a bit confusing, but its simple, and WILL WORK. There will have to be belts added to the karts. A 2" harness will probably do. Most can be bought for about $50 bucks. Two tabs next to the seats can be used as the lower belt mounts and the horizontal bar across the back mounts the upper part of the belts. The cage can be made out of a 1 1/2 mild steel .080 wall. This will be enough for strength, but still light.