What I learned last week

Truck38

This week I got the privilege to take my race truck up to Lake Tomahawk Baptist Encampment just outside Livingston to a boys camp that had a race theme. My dad, a friend and I got to be speakers because of the work we do at Texas Motorspeedway and my dad's work at THR.

From the days when I watched my dad race in Amarillo & Altus, to all those Indy 500 races I watched on TV I've always wanted to drive. When I graduated from college I started praying asking God to either get me into racing or take away the desire to race. 3 years later I called a guy who was selling a race truck and I got my answer clearly when I paid $2500 for my truck race ready. I put a battery in it and went racing! (And some people wished I wouldn't have done that ;) )

As a team we wanted to compete on the track and win races. Off the track we wanted to serve other racers and people at the track. I desperately want to win! And I think we've finally figured out how to setup a car and I've finally learned how to drive. I think I'm closer to winning than ever before. Of course Green, Roper, Lehman and a few others aren't there but hey I'm not complaining. :)

The only problem is I haven't done anything for anyone. Especially my fellow drivers except for tear up some of their stuff. (sorry) Racing is all I want to do I hate going to work now, but people are suffering. Dying of cancer, starving, losing their homes to bankers, and that is what I was reminded of last week. I wanted to be accepted and I wanted people to think I was a good driver. I didn't want people to think I was a Morgan Shepard, "Racing for Jesus" but just "racing" in the back. It shouldn't matter if I'm the slowest or the fastest... racing is not forever but Eternity is.