Jump to content

Texas Pro Sedan results at THR, 9/6/03

Recommended Posts

Randy Lee takes the win at Thunder Hill Raceway


Defending Texas Pro Sedan champion Randy Lee of Corpus Christi stayed glued to the rear bumper of Devine’s Jack Dishman for the first twenty laps of the TPS feature race at Thunder Hill Raceway in Kyle Saturday night. But as the pair of Ford Mustang drivers tried to work their way through slower traffic, Lee found the opening he needed and roared off to a convincing victory over Dishman. Dishman started from the pole position due to setting fast time in qualifying (16.820 seconds) while Lee, who qualified second fastest (16.849 seconds), took the green from the outside pole at the D-shaped, 3/8th-mile paved raceway.


There was intense action just behind the leaders as Marion’s Tony Johnson in a Mustang, Joshua’s Steve Edmondson in a Toyota Corolla and Bryan’s Bill LaBarge in a BMW waged an intense battle for third through fifth. Near the middle of the 30-lap event, the trio encountered a slower car going into the first turn and heavy contact was made involving all three drivers. Edmondson and Johnson were able to continue but LaBarge’s car came to a halt in the middle of turn 4, bringing out the only caution of the race. LaBarge was able to restart his car rejoined the race after a quick pit stop to replace a flat tire without losing a lap. LaBarge, who is the current TPS points leader, was able to work his way back to finish sixth behind San Antonio’s Sergio Hexsel in a VW Scirocco.


Going into the final TPS race of the season at San Antonio Speedway on October 11, LaBarge has a commanding 34-point lead over Lee and Hexsel who each have 113 points.


Results of the 30-lap Texas Pro Sedan Feature Race at Thunder Hill Raceway on 9/6/03, showing finishing position, car number, driver’s name, hometown, car, and laps completed:


1. (30) Randy Lee, Corpus Christi, Ford Mustang, 30 laps

2. (2) Jack Dishman, Devine, Ford Mustang, 30

3. (6) Tony Johnson, Marion, Ford Mustang, 30

4. (3) Stephen Edmondson, Joshua, Toyota Corolla, 30

5. (20) Sergio Hexsel, San Antonio, VW Scirocco, 30

6. (27) Bill LaBarge, Bryan, BMW, 30

7. (70) Donnie Moore, Hutto, VW Scirocco, 30

8. (34) Shane Hill, Austin, Ford Mustang, 29

9. (33) Jamie Garner, San Antonio, 2001 VW Sedan, 29

10. (48) Mike Knotts, Universal City, VW Scirocco, 29

11. (7) Jesse Sandoval, Corpus Christi, Ford Pinto, 29

12. (12) Joe Moloney, San Antonio, Honda CRX, 29

13. (66) Ariel Arredondo, Corpus Christi, Ford Pinto, 28

14. (72) Candy Hogan, Cedar Park, VW Sedan, 28

15. (38) Dave Parks, San Antonio, VW Rabbit, 27

16. (26) Lalo Leal, Corpus Christi, Ford Mustang, 19

17. (54) Harlon Hatcher, Converse, VW Rabbit, 19

18. (18) Lanny Young, Kingsland, VW Sedan, 4


Margin of Victory 2.7 seconds

Dishman led laps 1-20

Dishman set fast time -- 16.820 seconds

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...