Jump to content

Texas Pro Sedan results at THR, 8/23/03

Recommended Posts

Jack Dishman Scores Win at Thunder Hill Raceway


Devine’s Jack Dishman took advantage of a first-lap tangle between pole-sitter Bill LaBarge of Bryan and outside pole-sitter Donnie Moore of Hutto and went on to lead every lap in winning the 20-lap Texas Pro Sedan feature Saturday night at Thunder Hill Raceway.


LaBarge’s BMW and Moore’s VW Scirocco got together in turn four of the 3/8-mile paved track just as they took the green flag causing both cars to lose control momentarily. Dishman, who started in third position behind LaBarge, saw the opening and powered his potent Ford Mustang past the pair on the front straight. Dishman never relinquished the lead and won by less than half a second over Stephen Edmondson of Joshua driving a Toyota Corolla.


LaBarge, who is the current TPS points leader, was forced to pit for a new right front tire a lap after the incident and lost 11 laps in the pits while waiting for a caution period to re-enter the track. LaBarge finished last.


Defending TPS champion Randy Lee of Corpus Christi, who started the feature from the rear of the pack, steadily worked his Ford Mustang through most of the field but had trouble passing Moore who was running near the front. Shortly after the mid-point of the race, the pair traded paint on the back straight and a lap later they made contact again with Moore spinning in turn three, bringing out the only caution period of the race. Since both drivers were involved in bringing out the yellow, under TPS rules they both were sent to the rear. Lee recovered to finish fifth while Moore came home in eighth place.


Edmondson and Ford Mustang driver Tony Johnson of Marion battled for second spot for several laps with Edmondson eventually prevailing. Edmondson was able to close on the leader, but ended up short by 0.44 seconds.


In spite of his last place finish, LaBarge retains a 35 point advantage over Sergio Hexsel of San Antonio, who finished fourth just in front of Lee.


Results of the 20-lap Texas Pro Sedan Feature Race at Thunder Hill Raceway, 8/23/03, showing finishing position, car number, driver’s name, hometown, car, and laps completed:


1. (2) Jack Dishman, Devine, Ford Mustang, 20

2. (3) Stephen Edmondson, Joshua, Toyota Corolla, 20

3. (6) Tony Johnson, Marion, Ford Mustang, 20

4. (20) Sergio Hexsel, San Antonio, VW Scirocco, 20

5. (30) Randy Lee, Corpus Christi, Ford Mustang, 20 laps

6. (12) Joe Moloney, San Antonio, Honda CRX, 20

7. (33) Jamie Garner, San Antonio, VW Scirocco, 20

8. (70) Donnie Moore, Hutto, VW Scirocco, 20

9. (72) Candy Hogan, Cedar Park, VW Sedan, 20

10. (66) Ariel Arredondo, Corpus Christi, Ford Pinto, 20

11. (38) Dave Parks, San Antonio, VW Rabbit, 19

12. (34) Shane Hill, Austin, Ford Mustang, 17

13. (27) Bill LaBarge, Bryan, BMW, 9


Margin of Victory 0.44 seconds

Dishman led laps 1-20

Bill LaBarge won Heat 1

Donnie Moore won Heat 2

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...