Jump to content

IHRA Summit Super Series Hot Rod Bracket Race @ Alamo City Motorplex 3/27/21

Recommended Posts

IHRA Summit Super Series Hot Rod Bracket Race @ Alamo City Motorplex 3/27/21

By JM Hallas


Marion, TX.,(March 27th, 2021) Something old, something new highlights the beginning of the 2021 season at Alamo City Motorplex.


After several successful big shows, including the 'Battle of the Alamo' No-Prep event, the Extreme Monster Truck show, Project Torque Truck Shootout, to name a few. This week starts the 2021 bracket race series.


The latest announcement came just this week as ACM again joined up with IHRA sanctioning in a multi-year deal. This marks the return of the IHRA Summit Super Series Bracket races giving drivers points leading up to the Summit Team Finals and Summit Super Series World Finals held at the end of the season.


This Saturday kicked off the IHRA SSS points season with a double points show on the 1/8 mile track just east of San Antonio. Despite the cloudy conditions it was more like an early summer day with air temperatures in mid 80s, although track temps were kept in check by the cloud cover.


It was quite an opening night for the ACM bracket series points chase with over 125 cars signing in for action, one of the largest fields in some time.


Box(Top ET)

The Queen Retains Her Crown

After a successful 2020 season and her points championship, Candace Ritter(Cibolo) started off 2021 with bang taking home the win over Jaime Longoria jr.(San Antonio) in the Box(Top ET) Finals. Longoria in the Chevy powered S&W Chassis went .001 red handing the victory to C. Ritter in her Simpson Racing Products, Rehrer & Morrison, 2001 Undercover Chassis.



Candace Ritter(4.85) 5.209 @ 105.31 defeats Jamie Longoria jr.(5.43) 10.695 @ 35.36(red light)


It was tough for everyone tonight,” said Ritter. “My car usually goes straight and true, but tonight I had to drive it. There were a lot of red lights. I don't know how many(wins) I had from them, it seemed like a lot.(4 wins by red light)


On her way to the finals C. Ritter took out J. Nobles, Mike Pearson, Jeremy Wenske, Kip Scharf and got a round 6 bye. Longoria bested Jerry Longoria, D. Decker, Kip Scharf, Shawn Neidig, Cole Herbold and Scott Ball in semi's.


No-Box(Mod ET)

The No-Box finals had a couple San Antonio guys make it to the finals, Wendall Dockery and Mike Montoya. Dockery, in his D&E Glass Company, 69 Camaro got a huge advantage on the starting line to get the win over M. Montoya in his 70 Dodge Challenger.



Wendall Dockery(6.77) 6.814 @ 101.28 defeats Mike Montoya(6.63) 6.650 @ 102.95


Dockery trailered David Bixler, Joe Menke, D. Casey, Gabriel Hernandez and Schneider. M. Montoya lost in round 1 to J. Connealy, bought back and got past Hunter Herbold, Matt McInnis, Mike Zampese, Lee Miller and Tim Ray.



A long time ACM racer “Weird” Harold Shimek(Seguin) scored the victory in Sportsman in a close race over Ronald Gordner. Shimek got 1/100th off the line in his Camaro and beat R. Gordner's 2015 Dodge Challenger Scat-Pak by another 1/100th at the stripe.


Harold Shimek(7.50) 7.560 @ 85.96 defeats Ronald Gordner(7.85) 7.924 @ 88.11


Shimek got around Rhett Floyd, T. Johnson, John Villeneuva and had a round 4 bye. R. Gordner beat B. Gordner(twice), Daniel Cleveland and had a round 5 bye.



Two Hayabusas faced off in the Motorcycle finals with Don Hrometz(Temple) going at it against Casey Baugh(West) in the Baughs Out Racing bike. Baugh tried to trim the tree but went .008 red giving the win to Hrometz at the start.


Don Hrometz(5.88) 5.905 @ 117.89 defeats Casey Baugh(6.25) 6.277 @ 111.22


Hrometz put out James Marlett, and Whitworth plus a round 2 bye. Baugh had a bye in the semi's and got by James Monaco and W. Keele


Jr. Dragster

A field of 20 Jr. Dragsters got whittled down to the finals for a rematch between Jordan Suckow(Thorndale) and Tyler Janousek(Pflugerville). Janousek went .012 red giving the win to Suckow in his 2018 Jr.Racecar in a 'what coulda been' race as Suckow ran it through and broke out.


Jordan Suckow(7.95) 7.943 @ 81.24 defeats Tyler Janousek(8.99) 9.222 @ 66.13


Suckow defeated H. Pavlock, C. Nelson, and Janousek in round 1 with a round 3 bye. Janousek rebought after losing round 1 to Suckow then beat C. Garceau, S. Rufenacht, R. Picha and A. Rogers.



Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...