Jump to content

San Antonio Speedway


Recommended Posts

Spring is in the air. The birds are chirping, the flowers are blooming...AND the earth was shaking at San Antonio Speedway this past Saturday night for the running of the very first Spring Fling 75. Nineteen NASCAR Late Model rockets ignited and rolled onto the high-banked oval. Sitting on the front row were Lloyd Alexander and Robert Barker. During qualifying, Barker set a new track record when he circled the track in 19.81 seconds. Row 2 was shared by James Cole (in Michael Lampton's car) and Kevin Bendele. When the green flag waved, the field quickly maneuvered into a single file with L. Alexander leading. There were some anxious moments on Lap 9 when Eric Knudtson spun out right in front of the leaders. Luckily, all made it through unscathed. The same couldn't be said just 7 laps later. As Joe Aramendia tried to get by Donny Horelka, the two touched and the "Big One" erupted. Caught up in this melee were Mike Reininger, Mark Ackerman, Jamie Fuller, Brian Moczygemba, Beau Bukowski and Justin Oates. The latter four drivers suffered race ending damage. At this point, running 1-2-3 were L. Alexander, Barker and Cole with Kevin Bendele and John Heil right behind them. Barker knew he had a super-fast racecar and on Lap 26, he let L. Alexander know it too, as he took the top spot. The action was slowed when Heil experienced tire issues. When racing resumed, Todd Farris and Allen Alexander touched which sent A. Alexander spinning. Alvin Stewart was also collected and the red flag was displayed for clean-up. The remainder of this race was ran caution free. Barker was on cruise control. When the checkered flag dropped, he piloted his #17 racecar into victory circle and enjoyed the accolades that a win brings. Filling out the top five positions were L. Alexander, Cole, Bendele and Horelka.


A little spice was added to the mix in the NASCAR Sportsman division 25 lap feature event. Jason Oates accepted a challenge made by track manager, Terry Dickerson, to relinquish his third place starting position and go to the back of the pack. If he could pull off the win, it meant an extra $150.00 in his pocket. This race started off with a bang when front row starters Jamie Evans and Charles Earnhardt touched. Earnhardt spun out and left Tater Mason with no place to go. All three drivers made pit stops and returned to action. This put Tom Casey on the pole followed by Keith Garrett, Eric Knudtson and Greg Rohmer. When the green flag waved, Casey jumped into the lead. Oates was flying and unfortunately so was his right front wheel...down the front straightaway. The culprit was a broken hub. When the race finally got underway, Casey was out front, but he had some tough competition behind him. By Lap 7, Knudtson and Rohmer were hot on his trail. The yellow flag flew on Lap 11 when David Schooman spun out. It was quite evident on the restart that Knudtson had made all the right tweaks on his racecar as he zoomed past Casey for the lead and brought Rohmer with him. Seconds later Mason, Evans and Earnhardt were involved in an incident in Turn 1. The final yellow flag waved with 8 laps remaining when Schooman spun and collected Garfield Shanklin. Knudtson went on to win. Rohmer finished in the second position followed by Casey, Robert Mayberry and Garrett.


Ten cars were on hand for the 15 lap NASCAR Road Runner feature event. This race was plagued by numerous yellow flags. Attrition was high and just surviving took top priority. The red-hot Mark Mathias took control of this race on Lap 4 and never looked back. When Lap 15 arrived, some flag other than the yellow waved...it was a checkered one right over Mathias' hotrod. The next contenders to cross the stripe were Richard Curtis, Randy Frautschi and JD Votion.


Two ladies competed in the 4 lap NASCAR Women on Wheels (WOW) feature event. Mona Turner edged out Stacy Votion for her second win in a row.


Making their first 2005 SAS appearance were the Texas Asphalt Modified Series (TAMS). Setting fast time in qualifying was Bruce Beddoe (19.36). He and James Cole shared the front row for this 50 lap feature event. Row 2 was occupied by Joey Heinaman and Billy Becka. As the race got underway, Beddoe held the lead for most of the race. However, with 11 laps remaining Heinaman was able to jet past him and take the win. The runner-up was James Cole. Chris Swenson who started near the rear of the field due to a practice crash rallied to a third place finish followed by Beddoe and Becka.


Congratulations to all of the winners!

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...