Jump to content

Johnny Herrera masters ASCS Red River at TMS Dirt Track

Recommended Posts

Johnny Herrera Masters ASCS Red River At Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track


FT. WORTH, Texas (September 10, 2016) The U.S. National Dirt Track Championship at the Texas Motor Speedway added a new name to the list of winners as New Mexico's Johnny Herrera led green to checkered for his first triumph of the season with the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley's Racing Products.


Season win No. 5, as well as his fifth overall with the ASCS Red River Region, Herrera won the drag race into the first turns over Wayne Johnson to grab the early advantage. With Johnson in tow, the pair was joined quickly by fifth starting John Carney II.


Rolling to second on the opening round, Carney set sights on the lead with Herrera able to hold off the charge of the Lubbock Wrecker Service No. 11x.


Finding slower traffic, the Mesilla Valley Transportation No. 45x made quick work of back markers, putting several car lengths between he and Carney as Danny Jennings, from sixth, began closing in.


Taking over the runner-up spot on Lap 17, Jennings slowly closed in, and would have his shot as the caution flew with five laps to run, however, on the restart, a damaged nose wing would finally bite Jennings as the front end flew on the restart, allowing Herrera to roll away to victory. Despite the damage to the leading wing, Jennings was able to hold on to second.

Riding fourth the majority of the A-Feature, Blake Hahn worked corner after corner to get around John Carney II with the slide job finally paying off coming to the checkered flag for third. Carney would roll by fourth with Brandon Hanks rolling the cushion to fifth. Wayne Johnson grabbed sixth with Raven Culp bringing his No. 3 machine from 14th to seventh. Mickey Walker, Brandon Long, and Kade Morton made up the top-ten.


The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley's Racing Products will see action again on October 8 at the Timberline Speedway in Corley, Texas. Only three nights remain on the 2016 season.


For continued updates on the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley's Racing Products, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.


Race Results:


ASCS Red River Region
Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track - Ft. Worth, Texas
U.S. National Dirt Track Championship

Car Count: 21


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 52-Blake Hahn[1]; 2. 2-Mickey Walker[3]; 3. 45X-Johnny Herrera[7]; 4. 26M-Fred Mattox[5]; 5. 51-Caleb Martin[6]; 6. 98-Ryan Padgett[2]; 7. 3G-Brian Gramm[4]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 84-Brandon Hanks[2]; 2. 2C-Wayne Johnson[5]; 3. 2K-John Kelly[1]; 4. 8M-Kade Morton[3]; 5. 58-Gary Floyd[4]; 6. 2X-Tucker Doughty[6]; 7. 44-Jared Sewell[7]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 1J-Danny Jennings[2]; 2. 11X-John Carney II[5]; 3. 02-Brandon Long[3]; 4. 3-Raven Culp[1]; 5. 20G-Jake Greider[7]; 6. 55-Brad Queen[4]; 7. 05M-Charles McManus[6]


A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 45X-Johnny Herrera[1]; 2. 1J-Danny Jennings[6]; 3. 52-Blake Hahn[3]; 4. 11X-John Carney II[5]; 5. 84-Brandon Hanks[8]; 6. 2C-Wayne Johnson[2]; 7. 3-Raven Culp[14]; 8. 2-Mickey Walker[7]; 9. 02-Brandon Long[4]; 10. 8M-Kade Morton[12]; 11. 51-Caleb Martin[13]; 12. 2X-Tucker Doughty[16]; 13. 26M-Fred Mattox[9]; 14. 20G-Jake Greider[11]; 15. 98-Ryan Padgett[18]; 16. 3G-Brian Gramm[21]; 17. 44-Jared Sewell[19]; (DNS) 58-Gary Floyd; (DNS) 55-Brad Queen; (DNS) 2K-John Kelly; (DNS) 05M-Charles McManus

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...