Jump to content

Arizona Speedway hosts ASCS Southwest for the McSpadden Classic


Recommended Posts

Arizona Speedway Welcomes ASCS Southwest For the McSpadden Classic


TULSA, Okla. (September 6, 2016) A name that is synonymous with Sprint Car racing across the southwestern United States is Lealand McSpadden. While "The Tempe Tornado" may have started in Super Modifieds, the bulk of the New Mexico born racer's success came behind the wheel of Sprint Cars and Midgets.


A career that spanned over 26 years, McSpadden topped some of racing's biggest events, including the 1991 Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals as well as the Western World in 1978, 1993, and 1995. For all that he has done in Motorsports, Lealand will be honored this weekend at the Arizona Speedway in Queen Creek Ariz. with the inaugural McSpadden Classic on Saturday, September 10.


Bringing the Carlyle Tools ASCS Southwest Region in for the night's headliner, the evening's championship A-Feature will boast a $2,000 winner's check to go along with Lap Sponsors at $25 per lap with the leader getting $15 and second receiving $10 per lap.


Shirts, autograph cards, and other souvenirs will also be on hand for fans and teams at the event, but before the race, everyone is invited to the Pre-Race Party on Friday, September 9 at the Silver Pony, located at 620 W. Dobbins, from 6:00 P.M. to 9:00 P.M. (MST).


Rick Ziehl carries a 102 point advantage into the weekend over Bob Ream, Jr. with Colton Hardy only 111 back from the top spot. Lance Norick and Casey Buckman complete the top-five in regional standings.


Saturday, September 10 will also feature Dwarfs, Pure Stocks, and Bombers. Gates opens at 5:00 P.M. with racing getting underway at 8:00 P.M. (MST). For more info log onto http://www.arizonaSpeedway.net or call (480) 926-6688. For continued updates on the Carlyle Tools ASCS Southwest Region, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.


Quick Stats:

2016 Winners: John Carney II 3; Rick Ziehl 2; Logan Forler 2; Lance Norick 2; Colton Hardy 1; Bob Ream, Jr. 1; Stevie Sussex 1; Lorne Wofford 1;

Driver Standings (Top 10) 1. Rick Ziehl 1,715; 2. Bob Ream, Jr. 1,613; 3. Colton Hardy 1,604; 4. Lance Norick 1,480; 5. Casey Buckman 1,428; 6. Jesse Baker 1,331; 7. Cody Sickles 1,167; 8. Kaylene Verville 1,153; 9. Darrell Sickles 1,054; 10. Lorne Wofford 992;


2016 ASCS Southwest Schedule:


Date-Track - City, State - Winner

2/27/2016-Central Arizona Speedway - Casa Grande, AZ - Logan Forler
3/12/2016-Canyon Speedway Park - Peoria, AZ - Logan Forler
3/19/2016-Arizona Speedway - Queen Creek, AZ - Colton Hardy
4/1/2016-Southern New Mexico Speedway - Las Cruces, NM - John Carney II
4/2/2016-Southern New Mexico Speedway - Las Cruces, NM - John Carney II
4/16/2016-Canyon Speedway Park - Peoria, AZ - Lance Norick
4/23/2016-Central Arizona Speedway - Casa Grande, AZ - Bob Ream, Jr.
5/14/2016-Arizona Speedway - Queen Creek, AZ - Stevie Sussex
6/4/2016-Arizona Speedway - Queen Creek, AZ - Rick Ziehl
6/18/2016-Canyon Speedway Park - Peoria, AZ - Lance Norick
7/9/2016-Arizona Speedway - Queen Creek, AZ - Rick Ziehl
7/29/2016-El Paso Speedway Park - El Paso, TX - John Carney II
7/30/2016-Southern New Mexico Speedway - Las Cruces, NM - Lorne Wofford
9/10/2016-Arizona Speedway - Queen Creek, AZ
9/24/2016-Arizona Speedway - Queen Creek, AZ
10/8/2016-Arizona Speedway - Queen Creek, AZ
11/11/2016-Cocophah Speedway - Somerton, AZ
11/12/2016-Cocophah Speedway - Somerton, AZ
11/25/2016-Arizona Speedway - Queen Creek, AZ
11/26/2016-Arizona Speedway - Queen Creek, AZ

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...