Jump to content

Matt Covington looking to defend 2014 Jackson Nationals win


Recommended Posts

Ready For The Return; Matt Covington Looking To Defend 2014 Jackson Nationals Win


TULSA, Okla. (August 29, 2016) For the 38th year, the Jackson Nationals will roar to life at the half-mile Jackson Motorplex in Jackson, Minn. with the joining of three disciplines of Sprint Car racing as the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network teams up with the National Sprint League, and the Heartland Racing Association Non-Wing Sprints for three nights starting Friday, September 2, 2016.


Last seeing the Minnesota oval in 2014, Oklahoma's Matt Covington added his name to the list of winners in his first visit to the half-mile.


"I feel good about going back to Jackson. We're hungry for a win and I feel like we have a great opportunity to do that," commented Covington about going back to the Jackson Motorplex. "We've had great speed in the car, just need a little luck behind us to have a good night. I haven't been there since they redid the track. I know they've done a lot of work, but talking with some of the guys who have been there, they said they didn't really reconfigure it too much from when we were there last."


A staggered event between three sanctions, the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network along the HRA Non-Wing Sprints will kick things off on Friday night. Onward to Saturday, the National Sprint League will take center stage along with the Non-Wing warriors before all three sanctions take to the clay on Sunday.


"We're trying to get the 410 back together for this one. Just waiting on a few parts and looking at the payout and whether it would be worth it. Since it's Friday, Sunday with the 360 and Saturday, Sunday with the 410, we want to get it put together just in case. It might be a good chance to make some money, especially since we had a car get destroyed at Knoxville."

Asked about trying for the triple, Covington chuckled, saying he'll stick to the wings, "I've never run non-wing, and I'm not really in a position to play around with that. Probably hit a non-wing show at Creek County, but not Jackson. I'd like too, but wouldn't have a very good shot"


With 100 plus of the nation's best Sprint Car drivers expected or the Labor Day spectacular, the payoff is certainly worth the travel as the Lucas Oil ASCS will be running for a top prize of $10,000 while the National Sprint League ups that to $25,000. With several drivers looking to run double duty, that could set up for a pretty nice Christmas.


While the season hasn't progressed like Covington had hoped after leading the point standings early on, the T&L Foundry/A-Rock Materials No. 95 is currently sixth in tour standings with seven top-five runs and 17 top-tens on the season. In his 2014 win at the Jackson Motorplex, Matt led start to finish.


Adding the Devil's Bowl Winter Nationals to his resume that same year, it's now been 69 races since Covington visited Victory Lane with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network. In that time, the No. 95 has been on the podium 11 times.


"Again, we've got the speed. It was the same thing going into Jackson when we won, where we had the speed just not the luck so hopefully we can put it all together again and take home another win."


The 38th AGCO Jackson Nationals takes place over the 2016 Labor Day Weekend with action Friday, September 2 through Sunday, September 4. Each day, the Pits will open at 2:00 P.M. with the main Grandstands opening at 5:00 P.M. Hot Laps each night will be at 7:00 P.M. (CDT).


For more information on the Jackson Motorplex, log onto http://www.jacksonmotorplex.com or call (605) 359-4955. Live PPV coverage of the three day affair can be found on http://www.speedshifttv.com. Live online audio can be found at http://www.racinboys.com.


For more information on the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.

Need To Know:

Who: Lucas Oil ASCS / National Sprint League / HRA Non Wing
What: 38th annual AGCO Jackson Sprint Car Nationals
Where: Jackson Motorplex - Jackson, Minn.
When: September 2-4, 2016
Times: Grandstands Open: 5:00 P.M. / Hot Laps 7:00 P.M. (each day)
Admission: Friday, September 2, 2016: Admission $25, Students (13-18) $15, Kids 12 and under $5. / Saturday, September 3, 2016: Admission $30, Students (13-18) $15, Kids 12 and under $5. / Sunday, September 4, 2016: Admission $35, Students (13-18) $15, Kids 12 and under $5.



Address: 76748 550th Ave. Jackson, MN 56143
Phone: (605) 359-4955
Website: http://www.jacksonmotorplex.com
Email: info@JacksonMotorplex.com
Social Media: https://www.facebook.com/JacksonSpeedway/?fref=ts


ASCS History - Jackson Motorplex (Jackson, Minn.): The Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour has been in action at the Jackson Motorplex five times. The series' first saw competition at the half-mile oval in 2011 with Johnny Herrera picking up the inaugural checkered flag on August 19. Jason Johnson would win the following night. Returning the lineup in 2013, Jeff Swindell and Brian Brown split the weekend. Shorted to one night in 2014 by rain, Matt Covington picked up the win.

Jackson Motorplex (Jackson, Minn.) - 5 events

1. 8/19/11-Johnny Herrera
2. 8/20/11-Jason Johnson
3. 8/30/13-Jeff Swindell
4. 8/31/13-Brian Brown
5. 8/90/14-Matt Covington


2016 ASCS National Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 3,586; 2. Johnny Herrera 3,375; 3. Blake Hahn 3,178; 4. Wayne Johnson 3,150; 5. Seth Bergman 3,087; 6. Matt Covington 3,072; 7. Logan Forler 3,045; 8. Aaron Reutzel 2,850; 9. Kyle Bellm 2,191; 10. Josh Baughman 2,183;

2016 ASCS National Winner(s): Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 7 (5/13 - Texas Motor Speedway; 6/12 - Rt. 66 Motor Speedway; 6/18 - Lucas Oil Speedway; 6/25 - Skagit Speedway; 7/1 - Grays Harbor Raceway; 7/2 - Grays Harbor Raceway; 8/20 - St. Francois County Raceway); Johnny Herrera 4 (3/17-Heart O' Texas Speedway; 6/3-Hartford Speedway; 7/22 - Black Hills Speedway; 7/23 - Black Hills Speedway); Blake Hahn 3 (7/8 - Gallatin Speedway; 7/9 - Gallatin Speedway; 7/28 - Park Jefferson Speedway); Brian Brown 2 (5/5 - Lakeside Speedway; 8/21 - Missouri State Fair Speedway); Brad Loyet 2 (6/15 - Lawton Speedway; 6/17 - Mo. State Fair Speedway); Bryan Clauson 2 (6/16 - Creek County Speedway; 7/31 - Badlands Motor Speedway); Aaron Reutzel 1 (5/14 - Texas Motor Speedway); Wayne Johnson 1 (3/19 - Devil's Bowl Speedway); Brandon Hanks 1 (3/25-Cotton Bowl Speedway); Josh Baughman 1 (3/26 - Bronco Raceway Park); Marc Duperron 1 (6/24 - Skagit Speedway); Jamie Ball 1 (8/4 - Knoxville Raceway); Jamie Veal 1 (8/5 - Knoxville Raceway); Sammy Swindell 1 (8/6 - Knoxville Raceway)


ASCS National Drivers Online:

Josh Baughman: http://www.joshbaughman.com
Kyle Bellm: http://www.kylebellm.com
Seth Bergman: http://www.sethbergmanracing.com
Matt Covington: http://www.mattcovingtonracing.com
Sam Hafertepe, Jr.: http://www.sam15.com
Blake Hahn: http://www.blakehahnracing.com
Johnny Herrera: http://www.johnnyherreraracing.com
Wayne Johnson: https://www.facebook.com/WayneJohnsonRacing?fref=ts
Logan Forler: https://twitter.com/ForlerRacing
Brad Loyet: http://www.loyetmotorsports.com
Aaron Reutzel: http://www.aaronreutzelracing.com
Steven Russell: https://www.facebook.com/steven.russell.71066?fref=ts


ASCS Online:

American Sprint Car Series: http://www.ascsracing.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/lucasoilascs
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/lucasoilascs (@lucasoilascs)
Audio Broadcast: http://www.racinboys.com
Live Scoring (Where Applicable): http://www.ascsracing.com/live and the Race Monitor App

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...