Jump to content

Into the home stretch at Dodge City Raceway Park


Recommended Posts

Into the Home Stretch at DCRP

by Lonnie Wheatley


DODGE CITY, Kan. (July 28, 2016) – Another season is quickly racing by at Dodge City Raceway Park.

Including Friday night’s “Driver Appreciation Night” special at DCRP, only three nights of championship chase action remain for the track’s featured divisions of Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.

The only point race action that remains after Friday night is the Third Annual Sport Modified Mayhem event on August 27 and the season-ending Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event on September 24.

Rounding out the remaining schedule for 2016 at DCRP is the August 20 “Freedom Tour” finale for the USAC Southwest non-wing Sprint Cars along with POWRi West Midgets and the K.A.R. Evart Isaac Tribute.

But, attention shifts first to Friday’s “Driver Appreciation Night” card that fires off at 7:30 p.m.

With titles all still up for grabs, leading the way into the night are Luke Cranston, Nick Link, Kevin Tabor, Michael Pepper and Cody Davis.

A look at this year’s title chases…

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:

It’s essentially a fresh start for Luke Cranston and Taylor Velasquez with just one point separating the duo with three races remaining. Velasquez bounced back last week for his third win of the season after his lone finish of the season outside of the top five in the Boothill Showdown finale cost him the point lead.

Defending champ Cranston, Velasquez and Mike Peters are the only three drivers to finish among the top ten in all nine feature events thus far in 2016.

Feature Winners: Taylor Velasquez 3, Luke Cranston 2, Brian Herbert 1, C.J. Johnson 1, Jason Martin 1, Koby Walters 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Luke Cranston (Ness City, KS) 1,278, 2. Taylor Velasquez (Turpin, OK) 1,277, 3. Mike Peters (Wichita, KS) 1,227, 4. Tyler Knight (Spearville, KS) 1,120, 5. Brian Herbert (Dodge City, KS) 1,116, 6. Koby Walters (Liberal, KS) 1,052, 7. Kris Moore (Dodge City, KS) 1,047, 8. Jordan Knight (Wright, KS) 1,026, 9. Cody Lampe (Jetmore, KS) 893, 10. Tracey Hill (Liberal, KS) 816.

IMCA Modifieds:

Best in the top-ten department with seven out of nine has Nick Link holding on to the points lead by just 23 points over Ryan Heger with William Nusser just another five points back in third.

While Heger and Nusser still have the best shot at tracking down Link for the title, a strong close to the season for Joel Lane, Kale Beavers, Mike Lunow and/or Tom Beavers could certainly shake things up near the top of the point charts.

Feature Winners: Cole Traugott 3, Brendon Gemmill 2, Cody Gearhart 1, Mike Lunow 1, William Nusser 1, Clay Sellard 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Nick Link (Rolla, KS) 1,140, 2. Ryan Heger (Hugoton, KS) 1,117, 3. William Nusser (Larned, KS) 1,112, 4. Joel Lane (Ulysses, KS) 1,079, 5. Kale Beavers (Pierceville, KS) 1,068, 6. Mike Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 1,067, 7. Tom Beavers (Pierceville, KS) 1,055, 8. Tracy Link (Rolla, KS) 1,024, 9. Jesse Smith (Dodge City, KS) 999, 10. Kevin Gray (Ulysses, KS) 966.

IMCA Sport Modifieds:

Three-time and defending champ Jeff Kaup is in stretch-drive mode with back-to-back wins going into Friday night. But will it be enough to overcome a pair of rough nights in May that put him in a hole that Kevin Tabor has taken advantage of?

Tabor has finished one position behind Kaup the last four times out to minimize the defending champ’s gains with Kaup only cutting the gap from 39 to 23 points.

Feature Winners: Jeff Kaup 4, Daylon Bergeron 1, Daren Hacker 1, Mike Roach 1, Jeremy Sigler 1, Dakota Sproul 1, Toby Witthuhn 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Kevin Tabor (Dodge City, KS) 1,365, 2. Jeff Kaup (Woodward, OK) 1,342, 3. Kyle Wiens (Newton, KS) 1,275, 4. Brian May (Spearville, KS) 1,255, 5. Alex Wiens (Newton, KS) 1,189, 6. Bart Baker (Dodge City, KS) 1,056, 7. Jamie French (Hugoton, KS) 1,010, 8. Jeremy Sigler (Great Bend, KS) 930, 9. Toby Witthuhn (Garden City, KS) 902, 10. Mike Appel (Dodge City, KS) 787.

IMCA Stock Cars:

Trying to put the clamps on a second consecutive title, Michael Pepper has reeled off four consecutive wins to extend his points lead to 78 points over Marlin Hogie.

Feature Winners: Michael Pepper 6, Angel Munoz 1, Jason Rogers 1, Tyler Tipton 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Michael Pepper (Lakin, KS) 1,299, 2. Marlin Hogie (Ulysses, KS) 1,221, 3. Chris Oliver (Holcomb, KS) 1,204, 4. Brett Copeland (Fowler, KS) 1,043, 5. Dusty Witthuhn (Bazine, KS) 553, 6. Shannon Maughlin (Dighton, KS) 521, 7. Angel Munoz (Lamar, CO) 433, 8. Tyler Tipton (Weskan, KS) 413, 9. Cody Zimmerman (Dighton, KS) 403, 10. Ryan Grubbs 399.

IMCA Hobby Stocks:

The struggle is real in the IMCA Hobby Stock ranks with defending champ Cody Davis just two points ahead of Matt O’Hair in the title chase. While David Berger and Bryan Habiger have both collected first wins of 2016 the last two times out, Duane Wahrman’s string of four consecutive runner-up finishes came to an end with last weekend’s fourth-place finish.

Feature Winners: Cody Davis 3, Matt O’Hair 2, Reagan Sellard 2, Shannon Anderson 1, David Berger 1, Bryan Habiger 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Cody Davis (Bucklin, KS) 1,389, 2. Matt O’Hair (Laverne, OK) 1,387, 3. Bryan Habiger (Ingalls, KS) 1,339, 4. Duane Wahrman (Pratt, KS) 1,262, 5. Reagan Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 1,254, 6. Tom Reed (Kalvesta, KS) 1,233, 7. Tyler Walker (Dighton, KS) 1,231, 8. Jacob Huse (Kinsley, KS) 1,218, 9. Tobby Schield (Sublette, KS) 901, 10. David Berger (Dodge City, KS) 855.

While a large number of free tickets to Friday’s card will be distributed by drivers, additional tickets to the “Driver Appreciation” night event will be available at the gate for just $15 for adults with children eleven and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult. Pit passes are $30.

The complete 2016 schedule of events at Dodge City Raceway Park is available at http://www.dodgecityraceway.com/schedule/.

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south. For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check www.dodgecityraceway.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...