Jump to content

Blake Hahn parks it at Park Jefferson Speedway with Lucas Oil ASCS


Recommended Posts

Blake Hahn Parks It At Park Jefferson Speedway With Lucas Oil ASCS


N. SIOUX CITY, S.D. (July 28, 2016) A bone slick race track and traffic was the way the canvas teams had to work with on Thursday night as Blake Hahn capitalized on a mistake by Josh Baughman in slower traffic to garner his third Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network victory of the month.


Drawing outside of the front row in Thursday's feature event, Hahn would remain runner-up as Josh Baughman took off into the lead.



Jeff Bylsma photo


Slowed one time in 25 laps for Wayne Johnson and Cory Eliason, who tangled in turn-two, the leaders started approaching slower traffic with 12 laps complete. Rolling bottom side on the Park Jefferson Speedway, the pair raced to the back bumper of Justin Jacobsma.


Unable to work under the No. 10j in time, Baughman slipped off the low line, leaving the door wide open for Hahn to capitalize for the lead on the fourteenth lap.Commenting on the pass, Hahn stated, "Baughman we really good early on, and actually, he was good everywhere, but a lapped car got him out of his rhythm just enough for us to capitalize."


Thanking family, crew, sponsors, and the fans, Hahn's win at the Park Jefferson Speedway is his fourth overall with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network.


Crossing silver, Josh Baughman was pleased, but disappointed with the runner-up performance.


"It's a great finish, but you know it's bad when you run second and you're not happy about it. I felt like we gave that one away in lapped traffic but congrats to Blake," said Baughman. "These guys bust their butts every day to give me a good car and we're rolling pretty good going into the biggest month of the year here so I have to thank them."


Stalking the pair at the front the entire race, Johnny Herrera recorded his third consecutive podium finish. Within striking distance at one point, things never lined up enough for the No. 45x to pounce.


"At one point when Josh was leading there, we were all right there with Blake just waiting for him to make a mistake but we were all really about the same and then I think he made one, but then I made one and then Josh did, but I was just never close enough to really capitalize and once Blake got in to clean air, he was able to just pick his line and he was gone."


Race No. 107 on the season for Bryan Clauson, the Elk Grove Ford No. 17w crossed fourth with Sam Hafertepe, Jr. posting his 18th top five of the season with the National Tour in the Hwy. 79 Collision No. 15h. From ninth, Aaron Reutzel crossed sixth in the B.C. Fundz No. 87 with Jack Dover him trailing from 10th. Ian Madsen's No. 18 was eighth followed by Seth Bergman ninth and Matt Covington tenth.


A pair of Heat Races were contested on Thursday night with Ian Madsen and Bryan Clauson picking up wins. No provisionals were needed.


The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network returns to action on Sunday, July 31 at Badlands Motor Speedway in Brandon, S.D. for a $10,000 to win showdown at the three-eighths mile oval. Tickets can be purchased by Badlands Pawn as well as at the track.


For continued updates on the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.


Race Results: ASCS National - Park Jefferson Int. Speedway - North Sioux City, S.D. - Thursday, July 28, 2016

Car Count: 18


ButlerBuilt Heat Races (8 Laps, all drivers advance to the A-Main)


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 18-Ian Madsen[4]; 2. 45X-Johnny Herrera[3]; 3. 23-Seth Bergman[6]; 4. 95-Matt Covington[1]; 5. 52-Blake Hahn[7]; 6. 87-Aaron Reutzel[9]; 7. 5H-Cory Eliason[2]; 8. 2L-Logan Forler[5]; 9. (DNF) 6-Carson McCarl[8]


Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 17W-Bryan Clauson[2]; 2. 2C-Wayne Johnson[1]; 3. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[5]; 4. 53-Jack Dover[3]; 5. 17-Josh Baughman[8]; 6. 14K-Kyle Bellm[4]; 7. 2D-Dusty Ballenger[6]; 8. 10J-Justin Jacobsma[7]; (DNS) 3-Billy Alley


Protect the Harvest A-Feature (25 Laps)


A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 52-Blake Hahn[2]; 2. 17-Josh Baughman[1]; 3. 45X-Johnny Herrera[3]; 4. 17W-Bryan Clauson[5]; 5. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[7]; 6. 87-Aaron Reutzel[9]; 7. 53-Jack Dover[10]; 8. 18-Ian Madsen[4]; 9. 23-Seth Bergman[8]; 10. 95-Matt Covington[11]; 11. 2L-Logan Forler[16]; 12. 5H-Cory Eliason[14]; 13. 14K-Kyle Bellm[12]; 14. 10J-Justin Jacobsma[15]; 15. (DNF) 2D-Dusty Ballenger[13]; 16. (DNF) 2C-Wayne Johnson[6]; (DNS) 3-Billy Alley; (DNS) 6-Carson McCarl

Lap Leader(s): Josh Baughman 1-13; Blake Hahn 14-25
FSR High Point Driver: Ian Madsen
Hard Charger: Logan Forler +5
Provisional(s): N/A


2016 ASCS National Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 2,947; 2. Johnny Herrera 2,850; 3. Blake Hahn 2,614; 4. Logan Forler 2,549; 5. Wayne Johnson 2,542; 6. Seth Bergman 2,522; 7. Matt Covington 2,513; 8. Aaron Reutzel 2,496; 9. Kyle Bellm 1,655; 10. Josh Baughman 1,522;


2016 ASCS National Winner(s): Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 6 (5/13 - Texas Motor Speedway; 6/12 - Rt. 66 Motor Speedway; 6/18 - Lucas Oil Speedway; 6/25 - Skagit Speedway; 7/1 - Grays Harbor Raceway; 7/2 - Grays Harbor Raceway); Johnny Herrera 4 (3/17-Heart O' Texas Speedway; 6/3-Hartford Speedway; 7/22 - Black Hills Speedway; 7/23 - Black Hills Speedway); Blake Hahn 3 (7/8 - Gallatin Speedway; 7/9 - Gallatin Speedway; 7/28 - Park Jefferson Speedway); Brad Loyet 2 (6/15 - Lawton Speedway; 6/17 - Mo. State Fair Speedway); Aaron Reutzel 1 (5/14 - Texas Motor Speedway); Wayne Johnson 1 (3/19-Devil's Bowl Speedway); Brandon Hanks 1 (3/25-Cotton Bowl Speedway); Josh Baughman 1 (3/26 - Bronco Raceway Park); Brian Brown 1(5/5-Lakeside Speedway); Bryan Clauson 1 (6/16 - Creek County Speedway); Marc Duperron 1 (6/24 - Skagit Speedway);


ASCS National Drivers Online:

Josh Baughman: http://www.joshbaughman.com
Kyle Bellm: http://www.kylebellm.com
Seth Bergman: http://www.sethbergmanracing.com
Matt Covington: http://www.mattcovingtonracing.com
Sam Hafertepe, Jr.: http://www.sam15.com
Blake Hahn: http://www.blakehahnracing.com
Johnny Herrera: http://www.johnnyherreraracing.com
Wayne Johnson: https://www.facebook.com/WayneJohnsonRacing?fref=ts
Logan Forler: https://twitter.com/ForlerRacing
Brad Loyet: http://www.loyetmotorsports.com
Aaron Reutzel: http://www.aaronreutzelracing.com
Steven Russell: https://www.facebook.com/steven.russell.71066?fref=ts

ASCS Online:

American Sprint Car Series: http://www.ascsracing.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/lucasoilascs
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/lucasoilascs (@lucasoilascs)
Audio Broadcast: http://www.racinboys.com
Live Scoring (Where Applicable): http://www.ascsracing.com/live and the Race Monitor App

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...