Jump to content

Pierce battles hard for Lucas Oil win at Macon


Recommended Posts

Pierce Battles Hard for Lucas Oil Win at Macon


MACON, IL (July 26, 2016) - Bobby Pierce inherited the lead on lap three from Jonathan Davenport and went on to win the St. Louis U -Pic-A-Part 100 on Tuesday night at Macon Speedway. Pierce raced to his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season, and pocketed $12,000 for his efforts.


Brandon Sheppard charged from the 10th starting spot to finish second. Earl Pearson Jr. came home third followed by Clint Bowyer Racing Teammates, Don O'Neal and Darrell Lanigan.


Pierce wrestled his #32 entry to the finish of the grueling 100-lapper with no power steering. "We lost our power steering there at one point, I was worn out. I was tight at the beginning of the race but the car was great. A big thanks to the fans for coming out, they saw a heck of a race."


"It was nerve-racking after those cautions. I saw Pearson out of the corner of my eye just about every lap. He's [Pearson] was great on the bottom and I'm sure Sheppard was coming on the top. It was just a crazy race. We have been good all year, it just seems like things would happen to prevent us from winning," said the 19-year-old who picked up his 13th overall victory of 2016.


"Thanks to Champion Spark Plugs, Allgayer Inc., Advanced Shocks, RPM Services, Keyser, AR Bodies, Ted Brown, Pro Power Engines and of course, Bob Pierce Race Cars."


Sheppard put on a charge in the Best Performance Motorsports/Rocket Chassis to get the second spot from Pearson at the finish line. "We were pretty good up top. We were a little bit snug. I just had to get up on the wheel at the end to get back by Earl. Bobby had a really good car. Thanks to all the fans for coming out; my family was here tonight. Hope everyone enjoyed the show."


Pearson, who stayed glued to the bottom for most of the race and nearly took the lead from Pierce several times, finished third. "I knew Bobby and Brandon would be up top. Heck they grew up around here. Thanks to all of my crew. I never dreamed I could come to Macon and run third. Thanks to Carlton and Kemp Lamm and everybody at Dunn-Benson Ford, Lucas Oil Racing TV and Lucas Oil Products."


Completing the top ten were Dennis Erb Jr., Don Hammer, Brian Diveley, Jared Landers and Scott Bloomquist.

In preliminary action, Jonathan Davenport set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time amongst the 21 entrants, with a lap of 10.512 seconds. Jonathan Davenport, Tim McCreadie, Bobby Pierce won their respective heat races.


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Race Summary - Tuesday, July 26th, 2016
St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100 - Macon Speedway - Macon, IL


Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Tim McCreadie / 10.604 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Jonathan Davenport / 10.512 seconds


Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, All Transfer): Jonathan Davenport, Shannon Babb, Brian Diveley, Brandon Sheppard, Don Hammer, Matt Taylor, Chuck Mitchell

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, All Transfer): Tim McCreadie, Earl Pearson, Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Jared Landers, Dennis Erb, Jr., Darrell Lanigan, Colton Flinner

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, All Transfer): Bobby Pierce, Don O'Neal, Jason Feger, Jimmy Owens, Greg Kimmons, Daryn Klein, Guy Taylor


Feature Finish (100 Laps):




Race Statistics
Entrants: 21
Lap Leaders: Jonathan Davenport (Laps 1 - 3); Bobby Pierce (Laps 4 - 100)
Cautions: Jonathan Davenport (Lap 3); Don Hammer, Daryn Klein (Lap 6); Don Hammer (Lap 17); Jason Feger (Lap 45); Scott Bloomquist (Lap 54); Debris (Lap 79); Tim McCreadie (Lap 91)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: n/a
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Wrisco Feature Winner: Bobby Pierce
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Darrell Lanigan (Started: 17th; Finished: 5th; Advanced 12 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Scott Bloomquist
Allstar Performance Power Move of the Race: Brandon Sheppard
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Earl Pearson Jr.
Hot Rod Processing Rookie of the Race: Colton Flinner
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Pro Power Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Bob Pierce Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Anthony Burroughs (Darrell Langian)
Fastest Lap of the Race: Shannon Bann (Lap #5 - 10.861 seconds)
Most Laps Led: Bobby Pierce
PFC Brakes Tough Break Award: Colton Flinner
Time of Race: 34 minutes 53 seconds

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...