Jump to content

Carney II $10,000 Richer in NCRA Sprint Dodge City Showdown!


Recommended Posts

Carney II $10,000 Richer in NCRA Sprint Dodge City Showdown!

Dodge City, Kansas – July 3, 2016 - John Carney II held off a persistent challenge from pole sitter Brad Loyet to score his first career National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products 360-ci sprint car feature Sunday night at Dodge City Raceway Park in Dodge City, Kansas on the final night of the “Boothill Showdown” Steve King Memorial. Not only was the victory the first with the series, it also earned the El Paso hot-shoe $10,000.
Loyet and Friday night’s feature winner Jack Dover started on the front row for the thirty lap feature with Loyet briefly taking the lead entering turns one and two. Dover got around Loyet down the backstretch and would come around to lead lap one. Loyet would return the favor in turns one and two and would officially lead the second circuit. A pair of cautions during the first six laps slowed the pace before a long stretch of green flag laps began on lap seven with Loyet continuing to hold down the top spot. Dover and sixth starting Carney II made it a three car battle for the lead as the leaders began approaching slower traffic on lap twelve.
The three car battle for the lead would drop to two on lap fourteen when Dover’s bid for a weekend sweep ended when his power plant exploded entering turn three.
On the restart Loyet kept Carney II behind him and withstood several challenges until lap nineteen when he got a run around the leader entering turns one and two to take the lead.
Lapped traffic would come into play with nine laps to go, allowing Loyet to pressure Carney II for the top spot for several laps before the red flag would wave with just four laps to go when Joe Wood, Jr. would tag the wall exiting turn two and flipped. He was uninjured and done for the night.
The final restart saw no resistance for Carney II as he would lead the rest of the way to claim the victory in his second night aboard the familiar white #11x Lubbock Wrecker Service/Stewart Builders sponsored sprinter. Caney II would also become the ninth different NCRA sprint car feature winner at Dodge City Raceway Park in the past nine events held.
Fifth starting Don Droud, Jr. brought the Ochs Brothers #1x home third while five-time and defending series champion C.J. Johnson held off Norman, Oklahoma driver Danny Jennings for fourth.
The three, eight lap heat races for the twenty-two car field were won by Dover, Ryan Roberts and Carney II while Tony Bruce, Jr., Jennings and Harli White each won the eight lap qualifiers.
NCRA Sprint Cars
Dodge City Raceway Park/ Dodge City, Kansas
July 3, 2016
22 Cars
1st Heat: 1) 53-Jack Dover, 2) 98-J.D. Johnson, 3) 22-Jesse Baker, 4) 85-Forest Sutherland, 5) 1J-Danny Jennings, 6) 88-Tony Bruce, Jr., 7) 72-Ray Seemann, 8) 81-Jon Freeman.
2nd Heat: 1) 18-Ryan Roberts, 2) O5-Brad Loyet, 3) 1x-Don Droud, Jr., 4) 91-Jeff Stasa, 5) 17w-Harli White, 6) 51-Josh Fairbank. DNS: 21x-Taylor Velasquez.
3rd Heat: 1) 11x-John Carney II, 2) 45x-C.J. Johnson, 3) 5x-Jason Martin, 4) 10c-Jeremy Campbell, 5) 20g-Jake Greider, 6) 11-Joe Wood, Jr., 7) 11k-Tyler Knight.
First Qualifier (8 Laps): 1) 88-Tony Bruce, Jr., 2) 1x-Don Droud, Jr., 3) 20g-Jake Greider, 4) 53-Jack Dover, 5) 18-Ryan Roberts, 6.) 85-Forest Sutherland, 7) 51-Josh Fairbank. DNS: 21x-Taylor Velasquez.
Second Qualifier (8 Laps): 1) 1J-Danny Jennings, 2) 11-Joe Wood, Jr., 3) 98-J.D. Johnson, 4) 91-Jeff Stasa, 5) 11x-John Carney II, 6) 22-Jesse Baker. DNS: 11k-Tyler Knight.
Third Qualifier (8 Laps): 1) 17w-Harli White, 2) O5-Brad Loyet, 3) 72-Ray Seemann, 4) 45x-C.J. Johnson, 5) 10c-Jeremy Campbell, 6) 5x-Jason Martin, 7) 81-Jon Freeman.
A Feature: 1) 11x-John Carney II (6), 2) O5-Brad Loyet (1), 3) 1x-Don Droud, Jr. (5), 4) 45x-C.J. Johnson (4), 5) 1J-Danny Jennings (7), 6) 88-Tony Bruce, Jr. (10), 7) 10c-Jeremy Campbell (14), 8) 5x-Jason Martin (17), 9) 81-Jon Freeman (20), 10) 20g-Jake Greider (11), 11) 21x-Taylor Velasquez (22), 12) 91-Jeff Stasa (13), 13) 72-Ray Seemann (15), 14) 11-Joe Wood, Jr. (12), 15) 85-Forest Sutherland (18), 16) 17w-Harli White (8), 17) 22-Jesse Baker (16), 18) 53-Jack Dover (2), 19) 98-J.D. Johnson (3), 20) 18-Ryan Roberts (9), 21) 51-Josh Fairbank (19), 22) 11k-Tyler Knight (21).

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...