Jump to content

It’s Bobby Pierce on top of DIRTcar Summer Nationals at Peoria


Recommended Posts

It’s Bobby Pierce on Top at Peoria - The series returns to action on Thursday at Macon Speedway


PEORIA, Ill. - July 6, 2016 - Bobby Pierce battled Kevin Weaver to score his eighth DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of the season on Wednesday night at Peoria Speedway.


Weaver, who started on the outside front row, jumped out to the early lead but Pierce caught him as he began working through traffic. With Pierce out front, Weaver began a three-way battle for second with Billy Moyer and Jason Feger.


Pierce successfully navigated through traffic and notched his second victory of Independence Week as he continues his dominating run through Summer Nationals.


"It's just so hard to pass here because you swing out to the wall," Pierce said. "If you've got a run on the top, then you always have to check up for the other person. I was trying to make a bottom lane work and (Weaver) got in there and washed up a little bit and got stuck behind the lapped car and I got under there. Peoria's a racetrack where you've got to expect a lot of cars," Pierce said. "I'm just glad we got another win. It's really awesome. The car was great tonight."


Weaver closed out the night in second with Feger in third, Moyer in fourth and Ryan Unzicker in fifth.



The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action on Thursday night at Macon Speedway in Macon, Ill.


Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at Twitter.com/SummerNationals or on Facebook at Facebook.com/SummerNationals. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series' websites at TheHellTour.com and ModifiedNationals.com.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Peoria Speedway; Peoria, Ill.


A-Main: 1. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL), 2. Kevin Weaver (Gibson City, IL), 3. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 4. Billy Moyer (Batesville, AR), 5. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso, IL), 6. Timothy Culp (Sheridan, AR), 7. Billy Drake (Lincoln, IL), 8. MCKay Wenger (Fairbury, IL), 9. Todd Bennett (Peoria, IL), 10. Scott Schmitt (Tonica, IL), 11. Roger Rebholz (Sparland, IL), 12. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 13. Rusty Griffaw (Festus, MO), 14. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 15. Brian Diveley (Springfield, IL), 16. Bo Brockway (Glasford, IL), 17. Jeremy Conaway (Springfield, IL), 18. Jim Black (Bonne Terre, MO), 19. Jason Wagner (Deer Creek, IL), 20. Russ Adams (Princeville, IL), 21. Mike Spatola (Manhattan, IL), 22. Charles Hess (Peoria, IL). Hard Charger: Scott Schmitt.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...