Jump to content

Bloomquist goes back-to-back in LOLMDS Buckeye State sweep


Recommended Posts

Bloomquist Goes Back-to-Back in Buckeye State Sweep

ZANESVILLE, OH (July 3, 2016) - Scott Bloomquist pulled off a clean sweep of Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series racing in the State of Ohio this Independence weekend, winning the Lumi-Lite Candle Co. 60 on Sunday Night at Muskingum County Speedway. Over the course of two nights, Bloomquist collected over $24,000 in winnings.



Courtesy of LOLMDS PR

Bloomquist started third in the 60-lap main event and fell back to fifth on the opening lap. He gradually made his way to the front, taking the lead from Don O'Neal on lap 33. Bloomquist went on to the victory, and extended his series points lead.

O'Neal finished second, followed by Jared Landers, Earl Pearson Jr., and Brandon Sheppard.

'We put on some tires that were a little older. It took them a while to get going. Once they did, they were pretty good. The car was good. The engine ran super; I'd like to thank Andy Durham for that. We had a really good weekend," said the 52-year-old 2-time series champion, who became the first driver in the eleven appearances by the LOLMDS at the track to become a repeat winner.

"I wasn't that concerned when we fell back a few spots early on. Everybody was really punishing their tires and I didn't want to. I just tried to get some heat in them immediately, I could tell each restart we would get a little better, and eventually we were able to get the lead," said the driver of the Reece Monument Company, Crop Production Services, Sweet-Bloomquist entry.

Landers bolted out front and led the first 18 circuits until O'Neal charged to the point. O'Neal then held the top spot until lap 33 when Bloomquist forged ahead for good.


"Don got by Jared and I thought Jared was going to get back around him. There was some pretty hard racing up there for the lead. The track was pretty good tonight. You could race all over it. The way that the track started out; with all that loose stuff piled up and real muddy; is why we elected not to hot lap. Usually this track does blow off and slick over, especially around the top. The top stayed really good and smooth," said Bloomquist in Lucas Oil Victory Lane.


O'Neal was looking for his first series win of the season. He had the Clint Bowyer Racing/Peak Antifreeze and Motor Oil car in contention for the win from the start of the race. "I thought I was going to get this Peak car in victory lane tonight. My hat's off to the Zero Team. We made some changes today after last night. We started up front and couldn't stay there. Tonight we passed some cars, so we did a lot better tonight."


Landers followed up his runner-up finish at Portsmouth with another podium finish at Muskingum County. "We got off to a really good start. I kind of got lost after a while. I took off on one of the restarts and left the bottom open for Don. He [O'Neal] had a good car. He needed a good run. Scott just showed us all, but I hung on for third.

"I want to thank Crop Production Services and Mark Martin Automotive. This place is always packed out! I am just glad to be able to run strong in front of this many people, hopefully we made some new fans here tonight."

Completing the top ten were Dennis Erb Jr., Steve Casebolt, Steve Francis, Rod Conley and Mike Benedum.

In preliminary action, Steve Casebolt set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 29 entrants, with a lap of 14.629 seconds. Jared Landers set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 14.962 seconds. Tim McCreadie, Scott Bloomquist, Jared Landers, and Jimmy Owens won their respective heat races. Steve Francis won the B-Main.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the latest series standings, 2016 tour schedule, driver information, and more visit the official website at: www.lucasdirt.com.


Race Summary - Sunday, July 3rd, 2016 - Lumi-Lite Candle Co. 60 - Muskingum County Speedway - Zanesville, OH

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Steve Casebolt / 14.629 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Jared Landers / 14.962 seconds


Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Tim McCreadie, Jonathan Davenport, Brandon Sheppard, Mike Benedum, Steve Francis, Doug Kenworthy, Matthew Wade, Steve Casebolt

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Don O'Neal, Devin Moran, Tyler Carpenter, Tim Dohm, Sonny Conley, Scott Smith

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jared Landers, Earl Pearson, Jr., Doug Drown, Rod Conley, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Colton Flinner, Michael Davis

QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Dennis Erb, Jr., Larry Bellman, Jr., Craig Wolford, Chris Cowling, Darrell Lanigan, John Wyer

Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Steve Francis, Steve Casebolt , Darrell Lanigan, Tim Dohm , Michael Davis, Eddie Carrier, Jr., John Wyer, Sonny Conley, Chris Cowling, Doug Kenworthy, Scott Smith, Matthew Wade


Feature Finish (60 Laps):



Race Statistics
Entrants: 29
Lap Leaders: Jared Landers (Laps 1 - 18); Don O'Neal (Laps 19 - 32); Scott Bloomquist (Laps 33 - 60)
Cautions: Steve Casebolt, Michael Davis, Tyler Carpenter (Lap 1); Craig Wolford (Lap 12); Doug Drown (Lap 17); Jimmy Owens (Lap 18); Mike Benedum (Lap 23); Sonny Conley (Lap 39); Darrell Lanigan (Lap 46)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Colton Flinner
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisional: Sonny Conley
Wrisco Feature Winner: Scott Bloomquist
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Steve Casebolt (Started: 18th; Finished: 7th; Advanced 11 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Scott Bloomquist
Allstar Performance Power Move of the Race: Steve Francis
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Don O'Neal
Hot Rod Processing Rookie of the Race: Colton Flinner
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Andy Durham Race Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Jeremy Justice (Don O'Neal)
Fastest Lap of the Race: Jimmy Owens (Lap #7 - 16.2544 seconds)
Most Laps Led: Scott Bloomquist (28 Laps)
PFC Brakes Tough Break Award: Jimmy Owens
Time of Race: 37 minutes 10 seconds

Lucas Oil Championship Point Standings:



*Points are unofficial until Close of Business on the Tuesday following Race Day*

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...