Jump to content

Fred Brownfield Classic Next For Lucas Oil ASCS


Recommended Posts

Fred Brownfield Classic Next For Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network

TULSA, Okla. (June 27, 2016) The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network continues its run through the Pacific Northwest this Independence Day Weekend with the second running of the Fred Brownfield Classic presented by Little Creek Casino at the Grays Harbor Raceway in Elma, Wash. on Friday, July 1 and Saturday, July 2.

Going into the two day showdown, Sam Hafertepe, Jr. rolls in $15,000 richer after topping the 45th Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup at the Skagit Speedway. With the win, Hafertepe has extended his advantage over Johnny Herrera in the championship standings to 89 markers.

In the series 2015 return to the three-eighths mile oval, Washington's Jason Solwold topped the Friday preliminary feature event with Johnny Herrera coming back to win the Saturday finale.

Over the course of the past seven races, Logan Forler has moved to third in tour standings with Aaron Reutzel moving from sixth to fourth. Rolling into the weekend off a runner-up finish at Dirt Cup, Reutzel's 2015 appearance at the Grays Harbor Raceway yielded a third and an eighth place finish but his fourth place standing is a slim one as Matt Covington and Blake Hahn trail by two points, as the pair are tied for the fifth position.

Making it a four way battle for the fourth point's position, Wayne Johnson trails the spot by 14 markers. Johnson's 2012 win at the Grays Harbor Raceway was one of the most emotional of his career as a crash two years before at the Washington oval nearly ended his career.

Seth Bergman enters the weekend eighth in tour standings. Getting caught up in a crash on Friday night at Skagit, the Washington native rebounded on Saturday with a third place finish despite a fuel line that had come loose and began spraying the drive of the No.23 with raw Methanol in the closing laps.

Grays Harbor Raceway in Elma, Wash. has seen the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network in action ten times since 2009 with seven different winners. Oregon's Roger Crockett found Victory Lane in the series debut visit on July 17, 2009. Roger's lone win in National Tour competition at the Washington oval, Jason Johnson leads in wins at the Grays Harbor Raceway with three.

Travis Rilat with two wins is the only other multi-time winner in Lucas Oil ASCS competition at Grays Harbor. Shane Stewart, Wayne Johnson, Jason Solwold, and Johnny Herrera have each visited Victory Lane once.

Friday, July 1 and Saturday, July 2 the second annual Fred Brownfield Classic presented by Little Creek Casino opens at 5:30 P.M. Will-Call opens at 4:30 P.M. (PDT) Races get underway both nights at 7:00 P.M. (PDT).

Ticket prices for the second annual Fred Brownfield Classic presented by Little Creek Casino are:

2 Day Pass: Adults $50 (Jr/Sr./Act. Military $36... Child n/c)
2 Day Premium Pass: $60 (All seats, sorry no discounts)

Friday: Adults $25 (Jr/Sr/Act. Military $18... Child n/c)
Saturday: Adults $25 (Jr/Sr/Act. Military $18... Child n/c)
Premium Seating:$30 (all seats, sorry no discounts)
Adult 18-61... Jr 7-17... Sr 62+... Child 6 & under

Order reserved seats by calling: 360-757-6959
Reserved seating with 2 day pass only

Grays Harbor Raceway is located at 32 Elma McCleary Road in Elma, Wash. For more information, call (360) 482 4374 or log onto http://www.graysharborraceway.com.
For continued updates on the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.

Race Day Information:

What: Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour presented by MAVTV

Where: Grays Harbor Raceway - Elma, Wash.
When: Friday, July 1, 2016 and Saturday, July 2, 2016
Times: Open at 5:30 P.M. / Racing at 7:30 P.M. (PDT)
Location: 32 Elma McCleary Road in Elma, WA
Phone: (360) 482-4374
Email: graysharborraceway@hotmail.com
Website: http://www.graysharborraceway.com
Social Media: https://www.facebook.com/Grays-Harbor-Raceway-156681291011011/?fref=ts

Overall Lucas Oil ASCS Winners at Grays Harbor Raceway:

Date - Winner

7/17/09-Roger Crockett
7/18/09-Travis Rilat
7/16/10-Jason Johnson
7/17/10-Jason Johnson
7/21/12-Shane Stewart (Rain delayed from 7-20)
7/21/12-Wayne Johnson
7/12/13-Travis Rilat
7/13/13-Jason Johnson
7/3/15 - Jason Solwold
7/4/15 - Johnny Herrera (Brownfield Classic)

2016 ASCS National Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 1,993; 2. Johnny Herrera 1,904; 3. Logan Forler 1,769; 4. Aaron Reutzel 1,727; 5. Matt Covington 1,725; 6. Blake Hahn 1,725; 7. Wayne Johnson 1,713; 8. Seth Bergman 1,688; 9. Brad Loyet 1,498; 10. Josh Baughman 1,380;

2016 ASCS National Winner(s): Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 4 (5/13 - Texas Motor Speedway; 6/12 - Rt. 66 Motor Speedway; 6/18 - Lucas Oil Speedway; 6/25 - Skagit Speedway); Johnny Herrera 2 (3/17-Heart O' Texas Speedway; 6/3-Hartford Speedway); Brad Loyet 2 (6/15 - Lawton Speedway; 6/17 - Mo. State Fair Speedway); Aaron Reutzel 1 (5/14 - Texas Motor Speedway); Wayne Johnson 1 (3/19-Devil's Bowl Speedway); Brandon Hanks 1 (3/25-Cotton Bowl Speedway); Josh Baughman 1 (3/26 - Bronco Raceway Park); Brian Brown 1(5/5-Lakeside Speedway); Bryan Clauson 1 (6/16 - Creek County Speedway); Marc Duperron 1 (6/24 - Skagit Speedway)

ASCS National Drivers Online:

Josh Baughman: http://www.joshbaughman.com
Kyle Bellm: http://www.kylebellm.com
Seth Bergman: http://www.sethbergmanracing.com
Matt Covington: http://www.mattcovingtonracing.com
Sam Hafertepe, Jr.: http://www.sam15.com
Blake Hahn: http://www.blakehahnracing.com
Johnny Herrera: http://www.johnnyherreraracing.com
Wayne Johnson: https://www.facebook.com/WayneJohnsonRacing?fref=ts
Logan Forler: https://twitter.com/ForlerRacing
Brad Loyet: http://www.loyetmotorsports.com
Aaron Reutzel: http://www.aaronreutzelracing.com
Steven Russell: https://www.facebook.com/steven.russell.71066?fref=ts

ASCS Online:

American Sprint Car Series: http://www.ascsracing.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/lucasoilascs
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/lucasoilascs (@lucasoilascs)
Audio Broadcast: http://www.racinboys.com
Live Scoring (Where Applicable): http://www.ascsracing.com/live and the Race Monitor App

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...