Jump to content

Points standings following the IHRA President's Cup Nationals

Recommended Posts

Points Standings following the President's Cup Nationals Fueled by Sunoco


NORWALK, Ohio (April 21, 2016)- The IHRA President's Cup Nationals Fueled by Sunoco saw record-setting track speeds being broke and four veterans make their way into the winner's circle at Maryland International Raceway. The even bigger story leaving the third race of the 2016 season is the shake-up in the point standings; three classes have new leaders as they head into the Mopar Canadian Nationals presented by Williams Racing.

Cary Goforth's momentum continued in Pro Stock as he secured win number two of the 2016 season. Goforth qualified in the top spot and became the dominate force in eliminations. His performance advanced him to the number one spot in the point standings; with a 42 point lead over Trevor Eman. The duo advanced in the points after John Konigshofer did not qualify for eliminations.


Mike McIntire Jr. became the biggest mover following the President's Cup Nationals and took over the points lead in AMSOIL Nitro Funny Car after advancing to the final round against Tim Boychuk. McIntire has an eight-point lead over former points leader Shawn Bowen; followed by Jason Rupert, Boychuk and Mark Sanders. Veteran racer Tim Boychuk returned to the winner's circle since his last win at the Mardi Gras Nationals on March 14, 2015. The win moved Boychuk up to the fourth position in the point standings.


Former 2015 Nitro Motorcycle IHRA World Champion Jay Turner advanced to the top spot in the points after a semi-finals appearance in Maryland. Bob Malloy rocketed to the fifth position after his record-setting 6.204 ET and win at the President's Cup Nationals. Randal Andras fell one position to second, Rickey House remains in third and Jake Stordeur is in fourth.


Billy Harper maintains his points lead in the Pro Modified class heading into the Mopar Canadian Nationals this week. Harper was lightning fast running a record-breaking 5.832 ET and qualifying in the top spot. Unfortunately, Harper's 2000 Viper broke and he was unable to make a pass in eliminations. Rounding out the top-five in points is: Ruben Tetsoshvili, Adam Flamholc, Jerico Balduf and Bill Lutz.


2016 Point Standings - AMSOIL Nitro Funny Car


1. Mike McIntire Jr
2. Shawn Bowen
3. Jason Rupert
4. Tim Boychuk
5. Mark Sanders

Pro Stock
1. Cary Goforth
2. Trevor Eman
3. JR Carr
4. John Konigshofer
5. Larry O'Brien

Pro Modified
1. Billy Harper
2. Ruben Tetsoshvili
3. Adam Flamholc
4. Jerico Balduf
5. Bill Lutz

Nitro Motorcycle
1. Jay Turner
2. Randal Andras
3. Rickey House
4. Jake Stordeur
5. Bob Malloy

The IHRA Drag Racing Series heads to Grand Bend, Ontario this weekend for the Mopar Canadian Nationals presented by Williams Racing. The race marks the first of two events featured in Canada in 2016. The three-day event will feature AMSOIL Nitro Funny Car, Pro Stock, Pro Modified, Nitro Motorcycle, Top Fuel along with sportsman racing. Tickets are available for the June 24 - 26 race and feature free pit access. Purchase now and save at BuyIHRAtix.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...