Jump to content

Cranston, Lunow headline Saturday Dodge City Raceway Park Winners


Recommended Posts

Cranston & Lunow Headline Saturday Night DCRP Winners


by Lonnie Wheatley


DODGE CITY, Kan. (June 18, 2016) – Luke Cranston and Mike Lunow were among Saturday night’s winners at Dodge City Raceway Park as championship chase action continued atop the 3/8-mile clay oval.


While Cranston took advantage of lapped traffic in the closing laps to win his first Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Car feature of the year and Lunow denied a late challenge from Clay Sellard for IMCA Modified honors, other Saturday night winners included Jeremy Sigler in IMCA Sport Modifieds, Michael Pepper in IMCA Stock Cars and Cody Davis in IMCA Hobby Stocks.


In the 15-lap DCRP Sprint Car feature, Ness City native Cranston ran third for the initial 11 circuits before taking advantage of a Koby Walters bobble to take second on the 12th lap and then using a lapped car to take advantage of race-long leader Mike Peters on the 13th lap.


“Traffic worked out our way tonight,” Cranston said after the victory aboard the Myers Racing Engines/S&S Trailer Sales No. 20 Sprint Car. “Next time, it’ll probably be us that gets balled up in traffic.”


While traffic worked to the defending track champion’s advantage on the 13th lap, it nearly cost him the lead on the last lap. Cranston craftily worked to the high side of traffic in the final corner to deny a late Walters run at a second win of the season.


Peters settled for third behind Cranston and Walters after leading the opening 12 rounds with current DCRP Sprint Car points leader Taylor Velasquez and Tyler Knight rounding out the top five.


In IMCA Modified action, Dodge City’s Mike Lunow raced into the lead on the eighth round and then survived a late caution that gave Clay Sellard a shot at making it two wins in a row in the 20-lapper


After starting eighth, Lunow needed just two laps to work his way up to third and then took second from Kale Beavers by the fifth round. Three laps later, Lunow battled past Tracy Link for the point and checked out on the field.


In Lunow’s wake, Sellard battled through the field and took second away from Link with a handful of laps to go but hardly had Lunow in sight a full straightaway in the distance.


That changed when the caution flew with just three laps to go when Randle McRoberts looped it off turn four and collected Trent Gray and William Nusser in a high impact collision.


Set for a three-lap dash to the stripe, Lunow held off Sellard to seal the deal with Beavers, Nick Link and Kevin Gray rounding out the top five.


Great Bend’s Jeremy Sigler became the 16th different winner in the last 18 IMCA Sport Modified feature events at DCRP by fending off the advances of Brian May throughout the 15-lapper.


Sigler battled past Alex Wiens for the point on the second round then had his hands full the rest of the way fighting off May. Sigler was up to the task though, taking his first DCRP win since the 2015 season opener ahead of May with three-time and reigning champion Jeff Kaup, current points leader Kevin Tabor and Mike Appel rounding out the top five.


Lakin’s Michael Pepper continued his winning ways in the IMCA Stock Car ranks by picking off his fourth win of the season in the 15-lap feature.


Pepper had to work for this one though, pressuring Chris Oliver throughout before finally slipping by on the white-flag lap to steal the win. Oliver settled for runner-up honors with Ron Hartman, Marlin Hogie and Brett Copeland rounding out the top five.


In the IMCA Hobby Stock ranks, Bucklin’s Cody Davis assumed the point on the seventh circuit and led the rest of the way to take his third DCRP win of the year in the 15-lap feature.


It was fifth-starter Bryan Habiger gunning into the lead at the outset of the Hobby Stock main event with Davis and Matt O’Hair quickly moving into second and third, respectively, on the opening round.


Davis worked the top side around O’Hair for second on the seventh circuit and then found himself in the lead when Habiger lost power exiting turn four and pulled to the infield.


When O’Hair spun from contention two laps later, Davis cruised on to victory lane ahead with a half straightaway advantage over Duane Wahrman. Reagan Sellard was third with Tyler Walker and Tom Reed rounding out the top five.


Action continues at Dodge City Raceway Park with H&H Roofing night next Saturday, June 25, with championship chase action for IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks leading into the July 1-2 “Boothill Showdown” Steve King Memorial featuring $10,000-to-win NCRA Sprint Cars, $2,000-to-win URSS vs. DCRP Sprint Cars and 1200-cc Colorado Lightning Sprints.


June 18 Results:


Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:


Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 49x-Mike Peters, 2. 11k-Tyler Knight, 3. 21x-Taylor Velasquez, 4. 97-Brian Herbert, 5. 49-Kris Moore. DNS: 1x-Cody Lampe.


Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 20-Luke Cranston, 2. 33-Koby Walters, 3. 10-Jordan Knight, 4. 88J-Jeremy Huish, 5. 18-Brandon Sprott.


“A” Main (15 Laps): 1. 20-Luke Cranston, 2. 33-Koby Walters, 3. 49x-Mike Peters, 4. 21x-Taylor Velasquez, 5. 11k-Tyler Knight, 6. 49-Kris Moore, 7. 88J-Jeremy Huish, 8. 10-Jordan Knight, 9. 97-Brian Herbert, 10. 18-Brandon Sprott, 11. 1x-Cody Lampe.


IMCA Modifieds:


Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 25-Kale Beavers, 2. 1n-Nick Link, 3. 75-Randle McRoberts, 4. 44-Mike Lunow, 5. 2L-Tracy Link, 6. 3h-Ryan Heger, 7. 52-Clayton Hogie, 8. 7n-William Nusser.


Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 7s-David Solberg, 2. 25b-Tom Beavers, 3. 22T-Trent Gray, 4. 16-Kevin Gray, 5. 01-Jesse Smith, 6. 85c-Clay Sellard, 7. 27-Grant Florence, 8. 57-Joel Lane.


“A” Main (20 Laps): 1. 44-Mike Lunow, 2. 85c-Clay Sellard, 3. 25-Kale Beavers, 4. 1n-Nick Link, 5. 16-Kevin Gray, 6. 01-Jesse Smith, 7. 57-Joel Lane, 8. 7s-David Solberg, 9. 27-Grant Florence, 10. 2L-Tracy Link, 11. 25b-Tom Beavers, 12. 75-Randle McRoberts, 13. 22T-Trent Gray, 14. 7n-William Nusser, 15. 3h-Ryan Heger, 16. 52-Clayton Hogie.


IMCA Sport Modifieds:


Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 8-Brian May, 2. 12-Kevin Tabor, 3. 56m-Mike Appel, 4. 12x-Brad Johnson, 5. 57-Tanner Brunson, 6. 7J-Jamie French.


Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 10-Alex Wiens, 2. 21J-Jeremy Sigler, 3. 18-Kyle Wiens, 4. 92-Jeff Kaup, 5. 37-Bart Baker.


“A” Main (15 Laps): 1. 21J-Jeremy Sigler, 2. 8-Brian May, 3. 92-Jeff Kaup, 4. 12-Kevin Tabor, 5. 56m-Mike Appel, 6. 37-Bart Baker, 7. 18-Kyle Wiens, 8. 10-Alex Wiens, 9. 7J-Jamie French, 10. 12x-Brad Johnson, 11. 57-Tanner Brunson.


IMCA Stock Cars:


Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 22-Michael Pepper, 2. 3-Chris Oliver, 3. 33-Marlin Hogie, 4. 19-Brett Copeland, 5. 2z-Cody Zimmerman, 6. 28-Jack Pepper, 7. 55h-Ron Hartman. DNS: 86-Mel Halling.


“A” Main (15 Laps): 1. 22-Michael Pepper, 2. 3-Chris Oliver, 3. 55h-Ron Hartman, 4. 33-Marlin Hogie, 5. 19-Brett Copeland, 6. 2z-Cody Zimmerman, 7. 28-Jack Pepper. DNS: 86-Mel Halling.


IMCA Hobby Stocks:


Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 007-Bryan Habiger, 2. 2m-Matt O’Hair, 3. 17w-Duane Wahrman, 4. 7-Tom Reed, 5. 7h-Corey Hacker.


Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 91d-Cody Davis, 2. 55-Jacob Huse, 3. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 4. 20-Tyler Walker, 5. 57-Chad Kelley.


“A” Main (15 Laps): 1. 91d-Cody Davis, 2. 17w-Duane Wahrman, 3. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 4. 20-Tyler Walker, 5. 7-Tom Reed, 6. 2m-Matt O’Hair, 7. 7h-Corey Hacker, 8. 55-Jacob Huse, 9. 007-Bryan Habiger. DNS: 57-Chad Kelley.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...