Jump to content

Satterlee wins at LOLMDS race at Hagerstown with last-lap pass


Recommended Posts

Satterlee Makes Spectacular Last Lap Pass; Wins at Hagerstown


HAGERSTOWN, MD (April 23, 2016) - Gregg Satterlee passed race leader Scott Bloomquist heading into turn one on the final lap and went on to win the Stanley Schetrompf Founders Day Classic on Saturday Night at Hagerstown Speedway. It is Satterlee's first career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win. He becomes the ninth different winner in nine Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series races at the "Capitol of Dirt Racing".

Tim McCreadie came home in third, followed by; the current LOLMDS point leader; Jonathan Davenport and Rick Eckert.

"I couldn't believe it; it is so hard to follow lapped cars here. He [bloomquist] got a little crooked going into turn one and I just hit that corner perfectly. I was going to try going high into turn one to go around him, and at the last second I decided to go low, and it paid off. It was just one of those things, and I drove right by him."

"I have always wanted to win a Lucas Oil Series race. To beat such a stout field, and to pass Bloomquist on the last lap, I don't think I could have written it any better. I just can't thank my crew chief Robbie Allen enough; he is from right here in Hagerstown; I know this is a big win for him as well! Thanks to Mark Richards, these new XR1 cars we have are definitely fast! Hopefully it's going to be a great season."

"They have been trying to run this race for the last two years and the weather has not been good. Thanks to the fans for coming out tonight. This is the biggest crowd I have ever seen here."

Satterlee's Durham powered Rocket is sponsored by Satterlee Petroleum Distributors, Valvoline, Keyser, Classic Ink, Integra, and All About Wraps,

Jimmy Owens led the first 14 laps until Bloomquist took over the point. Bloomquist held the lead steadily for most of the race. The final caution came out with 14 laps-to-go. On the final restart, Satterlee was in third and had to pass Tim McCreadie to get to second.

Satterlee then set his sights on the high flying Bloomquist and closed the gap with each waning lap. Satterlee was a car length behind Bloomquist as the two drivers took the white flag. Moments later Satterlee dove to the inside of turn number one to take the lead on the final lap.

Bloomquist was looking for back-to-back wins in LOLMDS competition, and was disappointed that he let the win slip away. "The left rear tire was giving up. He [satterlee] ran a good race. We just got into the corner a little hot and I should have just stayed on the bottom. I didn't know that he was that close to me."

McCreadie continues to make strides in his Longhorn Chassis. He piloted his Sweeteners Plus entry to a solid third-place finish. "He [satterlee] got by me on that last restart. I was so 'caught-up' looking at the leaders on that last lap, that I just about missed the corner when I saw Satterlee get underneath Scott! We had a good car all night! Without that last caution, I think that I probably would have finished second. We made all kinds of changes to the car this week and it paid off. Heading into Illinois next week, tonight's run is a major confidence booster!"

Completing the top ten were Jared Landers, Earl Pearson Jr., Jimmy Owens, Don O'Neal and Darrell Lanigan.

In preliminary action, Earl Pearson Jr. set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 35 entrants, with a lap of 18.325 seconds. Gregg Satterlee set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 13.386 seconds. Jimmy Owens, Rick Eckert, Rick Eckert, and Scott Bloomquist won their respective heat races. Mason Zeigler and Andy Anderson won their respective B-Mains.


For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the latest series standings, 2016 tour schedule, driver information, and more visit the official website at: www.lucasdirt.com.


Stanley Schetrompf Founders Day Classic - Hagerstown Speedway - Hagerstown, MD - Saturday, April 23rd, 2016

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Earl Pearson Jr. / 18.325 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Gregg Satterlee / 18.386 seconds


Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Brandon Sheppard, Glenn Elliott, Earl Pearson, Jr., Marvin Winters, Darrell Lanigan, Kyle Hardy, Lucas Masiello, Brian Tavenner-DNS


FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (12 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Rick Eckert, Jared Landers, Jonathan Davenport, Austin Hubbard, Gary Stuhler, Mason Zeigler, Dylan Yoder, Allen Brannon, Wayne Johnson


Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (12 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Don O'Neal, Justin Kann, Scott Palmer, Ross Robinson, Dan Angelicchio, Colton Flinner, Kenny Moreland


QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (12 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Don O'Neal, Justin Kann, Scott Palmer, Ross Robinson, Dan Angelicchio, Colton Flinner, Kenny Moreland

Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Finish (15 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Mason Zeigler, Gary Stuhler, Darrell Lanigan, Marvin Winters, Allen Brannon, Kyle Hardy, Dylan Yoder, Lucas Masiello, Wayne Johnson, Brian Tavenner-DNS


Keyser MFG B-Main #2 Finish (15 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Andy Anderson, Ross Robinson, Dennis Erb, Jr., Dan Angelicchio, Colton Flinner, Kenny Moreland, Luke Hoffner, Jamie Lathroum-DNS, Alex Ferree-DNS


Feature Finish (60 Laps):




Race Statistics

Entrants: 35
Lap Leaders: Jimmy Owens (Laps 1 - 14); Scott Bloomquist (Laps 15 - 59); Gregg Satterlee (Lap 1)
Cautions: Debris (Lap 22; Dennis Erb Jr (Lap 22); Austin Hubbard (Lap 35); Dylan Yoder (Lap 46)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Colton Flinner
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisional: Dylan Yoder
Hagerstown Speedway Track Provisional: Marvin Winters
Wrisco Feature Winner: Gregg Satterlee
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Darrell Lanigan (Started: 21st; Finished: 10th; Advanced 11 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Jonathan Davenport
Allstar Performance Power Move of the Race: Gregg Satterlee
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jonathan Davenport
Hot Rod Processing Rookie of the Race: Colton Flinner
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Durham Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Rocket Chassis
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Charley Powell (Tim McCreadie)
Fastest Lap of the Race: Jimmy Owens (Lap #1 - 20.3079 seconds)
Most Laps Led: Scott Bloomquist (45 Laps)
PFC Brakes Tough Break Award: Mason Zeigler
Time of Race: 34 minutes 37 seconds


Lucas Oil Championship Point Standings:




*Points are unofficial until Close of Business on the Tuesday following Race Day*

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...