Jump to content

Nolan Wren Memorial on tap for ASCS Gulf South this Saturday

Recommended Posts

5th Annual Nolan Wren Memorial On Tap for Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region This Saturday Night


TULSA, Okla. (March 28, 2016) With a purse that reaches nearly $20,000, the 5th annual Nolan Wren Memorial at the Gator Motorplex in Willis, Texas is one of the highest paying events on the 2016 lineup for the Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region presented by Southern Trailer Works schedule.


Scheduled for Saturday, April 2 the Nolan Wren Memorial pays tribute to Ralph Nolan Wren who passed away in 2011 at the age of 65.


This year's event will feature a $3,000 to win, $400 to start A-Feature with tow money in place for any car that tows over 150 miles. Defending Lucas Oil ASCS National Champion and 2009 ASCS Gulf South Regional Champion, Aaron Reutz


el of Clute, Texas, topped the annual tribute to Nolan Wren from 2012 through 2014. The 2015 edition was a 305cid Sprint Car event with Jeb Sessums taking the win.


The only time the Gator Motorplex appears on the 2016 ASCS Gulf South lineup, the quarter-mile oval first saw action with the Gulf South Region in 2005 with Scottie McDonald picking up the win on April 16.

In all, 17 events under the ASCS Gulf South Banner have been contested at the Gator Motorplex with a dozen drivers earning wins. Reutzel's trio of Nolan Wren Memorial scores puts him atop the list of visits to Victory Lane. Chris Sweeney, Jason Johnson, and Ray Allen Kulhanek complete the list of multi time winners with a pair each.


Taking in the season's first two nights of racing this past weekend with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour at the Cotton Bowl Speedway and Bronco Raceway Park, regional standings shows a tie at the top between Ray Allen Kulhanek and Scottie McDonald.


Travis Rilat holds third only five points behind with Channin Tankersley and Tommy Bryant making up the top-five. Zane Lawrence, Dustin Gates, J.J. Simmons, Michael McNeil, and John Pate complete the top-ten going into this weekend.


Saturday, April 2 at the Gator Motorplex will see Hot Laps getting underway at 5:30 P.M. with races at 6:00 P.M. (CT). Joining the ASCS Gulf South Region will be the Southern United 305cid Sprints, Pure Stocks, Factory Stocks, and Limited Modifieds. The Driven Midwest NOW600 National Micro Series presented by MyRacePass will also be on hand. The event is a non-points show for the series with "A" Class, Restricted, and Junior Sprints in action. For more information on the Gator Motorplex, call (936) 588-6127 or log onto http://www.gatormotorplex.net.


The 2016 season is the 15th year of racing for the ASCS Gulf South Region.


Quick Stats


ASCS Gulf South Winners - Gator Motorplex (Willis, Texas)

4/16/2005 - Scottie McDonald
10/8/2005 - Travis Rilat
5/27/2006 - Chris Sweeney
5/16/2006 - Brad Best
5/24/2008 - Chris Sweeney
7/19/2008 - Tommy Bryant
3/28/2009 - Jason Johnson
5/23/2009 - Skip Wilson
5/29/2010 - Kent Lewis, Jr.
9/4/2010 - Jason Johnson
5/28/2011 - Gary Wright
3/31/2012 - Aaron Reutzel**
5/26/2012 - Channin Tankersley
9/1/2012 - Ray Allen Kulhanek
4/20/2013 - Aaron Reutzel**
4/19/2014 - Aaron Reutzel**
6/7/2014 - Ray Allen Kulhanek

**Nolan Wren Memorial Winner


2016 ASCS Gulf South Driver Points (Top 10): 1. Ray Allen Kulhanek 277; 2. Scottie McDonald 277; 3. Travis Rilat 272; 4. Channin Tankersley 266; 5. Tommy Bryant 252; 6. Zane Lawrence 244; 7. Dustin Gates 235; 8. J.J. Simmons 235; 9. Michael McNeil 232; 10. John Pate 216;


2016 ASCS Gulf South Winners: Josh Baughman 1; Brandon Hanks 1;


2016 ASCS Gulf South Lineup:


Date - Track - City, State - Winner

3/11/2016-Golden Triangle Raceway Park - Beaumont, TX - Rain
3/12/2016-Battleground Speedway - Highlands, TX - Rain
3/25/2016-Cotton Bowl Speedway - Paige, TX - Brandon Hanks
3/26/2016-Bronco Raceway Park - Cleveland, TX - Josh Baughman
4/2/2016-Gator Motorplex - Willis, TX
4/8/2016-Jackson Motor Speedway - Jackson, MS (vs. ASCS S.O.S.)
4/9/2016-Jackson Motor Speedway - Jackson, MS (vs. ASCS S.O.S.)
5/6/2016-Heart O' Texas Speedway - Waco, TX
5/7/2016-Bronco Raceway Park - Cleveland, TX
5/27/2016-RPM Speedway - Crandall, TX
5/28/2016-Devil's Bowl Speedway - Mesquite, TX
5/29/2016-Lone Star Speedway - Kilgore, TX
6/10/2016-Golden Triangle Raceway Park - Beaumont, TX (vs. ASCS S.O.S.)
6/11/2016-Battleground Speedway - Highlands, TX (vs. ASCS S.O.S.)
7/2/2016-Bronco Raceway Park - Cleveland, TX
7/3/2016-Shady Oaks Speedway - Goliad, TX
7/22/2016-Heart O' Texas Speedway - Waco, TX
7/23/2016-Cotton Bowl Speedway - Paige, TX
8/19/2016-Heart O' Texas Speedway - Waco, TX
8/20/2016-Lone Star Speedway - Kilgore, TX
9/2/2016-Shady Oaks Speedway - Goliad, TX
9/3/2016-Battleground Speedway - Highlands, TX
9/4/2016-Golden Triangle Raceway Park - Beaumont, TX


*Schedule subject to change without notice.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...