Jump to content

Babb charges to victory for 3rd DIRTcar Summer Nationals win of 2015


Recommended Posts

Babb Charges to Late Race Victory at Tri-State for Third DIRTcar Summer Nationals Win of the Season


HAUBSTADT, Ind. - July 5, 2015 - Shannon Babb passed Billy Moyer Jr. in heavy lapped traffic with two laps to go on Sunday night at Tri-State Speedway to earn his third DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of the season.


Babb, of Moweaqua, Ill., started sixth and kept pushing forward in the 40-lap feature, eventually catching and passing Moyer Jr. to take the $5,000 checkered flag and tie Billy Moyer with 90 DIRTcar Summer Nationals victories atop the all-time win list.


"It was pretty wild out there," Babb said. "It always is here at Haubstadt. It's racy as can be and lapped traffic always plays into it a little bit. Billy (Moyer Jr.) was leading the thing, it's really hard to get off the corner here, so everybody was using the cushion or whatever they could use. It was just good racing everywhere on this place."


Points leader Bobby Pierce was also able to get past Moyer Jr. on the last lap to finish second while Scott James and Dennis Erb Jr. rounded out the top five.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals final week continues Monday at Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway after it was rained out on June 28.


Follow the Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/SummerNationals, or visit the series' websites at www.TheHellTour.com and www.ModifiedNationals.com.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Tri-State Speedway; Haubstadt, Ind.; July 5, 2015


A-MAIN (40 LAPS) - 1. (18) Shannon Babb, Moweaqua, IL ($5,000); 2. (32) Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, IL; 3. (21JR) Billy Moyer Jr, Batesville, AR; 4. (83) Scott James, Harrison, Oh; 5. (28E) Dennis Erb, Jr, Carpentersville, IL; 6. (96) Tanner English, Benton, KY; 7. (4) Cody Mahoney, Hanover, IN; 8. (24) Ryan Unzicker, El Paso, IL; 9. (25) Jason Feger, Bloomington, IL; 10. (54) Matt Westfall, Pleasant Hill, OH; 11. (92W) Scott Weber, Festus, MO; 12. (6M) Wendell Wallace, Batesville, AR; 13. (81JR) Jason Riggs, Harrisburg, IL; 14. (78) Chad Zobrist, Highland, IL; 15. (8K) Levi Kissinger, Mt Vernon, IN; 16. (24S) Jeremy Sneed, Bluford, IL; 17. (6K) Michael Kloos, Trenton, IL; 18. (C8) Timothy Culp, Sheridan, AR; 19. (1M) Jim Moon, New Florence, MO; 20. (7R) Kent Robinson, Bloomington, IN; 21. (27M) Rodney Melvin, Benton, IL; 22. (61) Caleb Ashby, Cunningham, TN.

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Bobby Pierce, Cody Mahoney, Timothy Culp and Billy Moyer Jr.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Championship Top 14




Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...