Jump to content

Simpson surges to DIRTcar Summer Nationals win at La Salle Speedway


Recommended Posts

Simpson Surges to DIRTcar Summer Nationals Win at La Salle Speedway



LA SALLE, Ill. - July 2, 2015 - Chris Simpson charged from fourth to victory on Thursday night at La Salle Speedway to earn the second DIRTcar Summer Nationals win of his career.


Simpson, of Oxford, Iowa, stalked Jason Feger for the first half of the race and eventually surged to the lead in traffic on lap 29 then powered the remaining 11 laps to the $5,000 checkered flag.


"We've had a rough start to the year so it feels good," said Simpson, who is only a week removed from a fire in his car during a heat race. "We had an awesome car. The track couldn't have been prepared any better. We had soft tires on, me and Feger had the same thing on. And it all worked out for us."


Shannon Babb finished third with Michael Kloos and Ryan Unzicker rounding out the top five. Points leader Bobby Pierce raced from 19th to finish 8th.


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals tour invades Fayette County Speedway in Brownstown, Ill., on Friday night and then races to Highland (Ill.) Speedway on Saturday and Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind., on Sunday.


Follow the Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/SummerNationals, or visit the series' websites at www.TheHellTour.com and www.ModifiedNationals.com.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; La Salle (Ill.) Speedway; July 2, 2015

A-MAIN (40 LAPS) - 1. (32S) Chris Simpson, Oxford, IA ($5,000); 2. (25) Jason Feger, Bloomington, IL; 3. (18) Shannon Babb, Moweaqua, IL; 4. (6K) Michael Kloos, Trenton, IL; 5. (24) Ryan Unzicker, El Paso, IL; 6. (99JR) Frank Heckenast Jr, Frankfort, IL; 7. (21JR) Billy Moyer Jr, Batesville, AR; 8. (32) Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, IL; 9. (21) Billy Moyer, Batesville, AR; 10. (3S) Brian Shirley, Chatham, IL; 11. (10S) Scott Schmitt, Tonica, IL; 12. (89) Mike Spatola, Manhattan, IL; 13. (54) Matt Westfall, Pleasant Hill, OH; 14. (C8) Timothy Culp, Sheridan, AR; 15. (12B) Kevin Weaver, Gibson City, IL; 16. (58R) Ray Guss Jr, Milan, IL; 17. (9R) Curtis Roberts, Coleman, MI; 18. (4G) Bob Gardner, East Peoria, IL; 19. (21B) Rich Bell, Sheffield, IL; 20. (29) Spencer Diercks, Davenport, IA; 21. (75D) Billy Drake, Lincoln, IL; 22. (7) Mike Mataragas, Dekalb, IL.


HEAT RACE WINNERS: Shannon Babb, Chris Simpson, Jason Feger and Billy Moyer Jr.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...