Jump to content

USRA Holley Iron Man Series set for Fourth of July doubleheader


Recommended Posts

USRA Holley Iron Man Series set for Fourth of July doubleheader

CRESCO, Iowa (July 1)-The USRA Holley Iron Man Series featuring USRA Stock Cars and USRA B-Mods will be back in action this Fourth of July weekend with two shows scheduled at the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa, and Fayette County Speedway in West Union, Iowa.

Heading into the Independence Day weekend, only 66 points separate Holley Iron Man Series USRA Stock Car points leader Tom Schmitt (794) and Steve Jackson (728). Schmitt, from Independence, Iowa, has only one win on the season but has recorded seven top-10s of which four were top-5 finishes. Jackson has claimed two wins in the series, but has captured seven top-10s of which two were top-5 finishes.

Todd Staley (673), Jake Newman (507) and Stefan Sybesma (506) round out the current top five for the USRA Stock Cars. The reigning series champion, Mitch Hovden from Decorah, Iowa, currently sits in seventh place with 449 tallies and one feature win.

Tom Schmitt sits atop the Holley Iron Man Series USRA Stock Car points battle.

In the Holley Iron Man Series USRA B-Mods, Dakota Foster of Gardner, Kan., leads the field with 929 ticks-193 more than current second-place holder Jared Timmerman (736). Foster has captured one feature win on the season and eight top-10s of which seven are top-5 finishes.

Timmerman has recorded four top-10 finishes with one in the top 5. Dan Wheeler (604), Miah Christensen (457) and Andy Bryant (452) round out the rest of the current top 5. Bryant has also scored two feature wins in the series.

The reigning series champion, Cory Crapser from Chippewa Falls, Wis., currently sits in ninth with 367 points. Crapser does have pair of wins this year in the series.

The Cresco Speedway will be host the Holley Iron Man Series as well as the USRA Hobby Stocks and two other supporting classes on Thursday, July 2. The Cresco Speedway is 4/10-mile high-banked clay oval located at the Howard County Fairgrounds.

The series will then travel just southwest to the Fayette County Speedway on Friday, July 3. Also in action on Friday night will be the USRA Hobby Stocks. The Fayette County Speedway is 3/8-mile, semi-banked clay oval located at the Fayette County Fairgrounds.

Holley Iron Man Series points include the best 16 finishes for USRA Stock Cars and best 20 finishes for USRA B-Mods. To be eligible for points funds, drivers must possess a valid USRA license, utilize the American Racer KK704 tire on all four wheels and compete in at least half of the Iron Man Series events for their division. Licensed USRA drivers in both classes will also earn national points in the USRA Weekly Racing Series.

The Holley Iron Man Series year-end points fund will award $1,500 to the champion in each division.


USRA Stock Cars:
1. 18 Tom Schmitt, Independence, Iowa ... 794 (1 win)
2. 2j Steve Jackson, Polk City, Iowa ... 728 (2 wins)
3. 14 Todd Staley, Webster City, Iowa ... 673
4. 222 Jake Newman, Smithville, Mo. ... 507
5. 5b Stefan Sybesma, Sanborn, Iowa ... 506
6. 67 Kyle Falck, Decorah, Iowa ... 459
7. 15 Mitch Hovden, Decorah, Iowa ... 449 (1 win)
8. 55 Sean Foster, Smithville, Mo. ... 428
9. 69 Jake Ludeking, Decorah, Iowa ... 407
10. 33 Kevin Donlan, Decorah, Iowa ... 298
Other winners:
14 Derrick Agee, Moberly, Mo. (1 win)
01u Chris Ullrich, Kiron, Iowa (1 win)
77 Dean Wray, Jamesport, Mo. (1 win)
66z Elijah Zevenbergen, Ocheyedan, Iowa (2 wins)

USRA B-Mods:
1. 5 Dakota Foster, Gardner, Kan. ... 929 (1 win)
2. 7+ Jared Timmerman, Norwalk, Iowa ... 736
3. Red1 Dan Wheeler, Savage, Minn. ... 604
4. 782 Miah Christensen, Sioux Falls, S.D. ... 457
5. 28 Andy Bryant, Fort Scott, Kan. ... 452 (2 wins)
6. 11jr Randal Schiffelbein Jr., Tecumseh, Kan. ... 405
7. 17 Mike Striegel, Wheatland, Mo. ... 401
8. 6 Dustin Kruse, Brandon, S.D. ... 369
9. 07 Cory Crapser, Chippewa Falls, Wis. ... 367 (2 wins)
10. 02 Cole Denner, New Hampton, Iowa ... 303
Other winners:
16 Dan Hovden, Decorah, Iowa (1 win)
66 Ethan Isaacs, Bonner Springs, Kan. (1 win)
65 Kris Jackson. Lebanon, Mo. (1 win)
91 Tyler Johnson, Sioux Falls, S.D. (1 win)
181 Luke Nieman, Nortonville, Kan. (1 win)
99 Brad Smith, Belton, Mo. (1 win)

To learn more about the USRA, visit www.usraracing.com or call 515-832-6000. You can also like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/usraracing, follow us at www.twitter.com/usraracing on Twitter and check out our YouTube channel at www.youtube.com/usratv.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...