Jump to content

Clean sweeps all around at Salina Speedway


Recommended Posts

Clean Sweeps All Around at Salina Speedway

by Dusty Wiegert

SALINA, Kan. -- For some racers Friday night it was only the second or third time for their division to race due to the weather. But from the action on the track you'd of thought it was already well into the season as five first time winners for 2015 emerged.

Dusty Leonard quickly made his way to Xtreme Motor Sports Victory Lane at the Salina Speedway in only his fourth start at the track in the BSB Manufacturing NeSmith Late Models. Leonard jumped from his pole position and quickly powered into the lead. Fifth starting Chris Kratzer worked his way up to second to challenge Leonard but couldn't complete a pass as Leonard crossed the line three car lengths ahead of Kratzer. Delbert Smith came from seventh to finish third while Scott Phillips rounded out the top four. It was a clean sweep for Leonard as he also won the qualifying heat race earlier in the night.

Last season Corey Burch finally picked up his first feature win near the end of the year. This season it only took him three races to do the same in the 1st Class Chassis IMCA Modified division. Burch methodically moved from fourth to first and set sail for the checkered flag despite Brian Knoell closing in late. Knoell would have to settle for second while Jesse Richter and Joe Cleveland finished off the top four. Burch was also in for the clean sweep after he won his qualifying heat race. Larry Sutton, who collected his trophy in victory lane before the races for his win back on May 22nd, and Cleveland won the other two heats.

The Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Northern SportMod division was in for a double on the night. The first race out was the make-up feature for May 22nd, in which Daniel Gottschalk scored a decisive victory. Later in the program Fred Traskowsky would come home with a big feature win in a race of attrition, seeing only a handful of cars finishing. Traskowsky also pulled out the broom with the clean sweep after winning his heat race also. Gottschalk won the other heat.

Aaron McBride worked his way to a big win in the Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stock division. He pulled away from multiple-time track champion Mike Traskowsky to score the victory with Traskowsky, Eric Cross, and Kelly Pihl finishing out the top four. McBride also had the broom out for the sweep, winning the heat race he participated in also. John Steele and Pihl won the other two heats.

Completing the sweeps for the night was Paco Montague, who picked up the win in the M&H Motors IMCA Sport Compact division after a post-race disqualification. Art Bird, Bailey Glavin, and Ashlyn Bird would round out the top four.

Racing continues next Friday July 3rd with the 5th Annual Topless Modified Challenge presented by Wholesale Fireworks. The IMCA Modifieds will be racing for a cool $1,000 to win while the IMCA Northern SportMods will showdown for $500. Both divisions will be required to race topless. Roofs will be optional for the Auto House Mod Lites and Late Models. Obviously tops will be required for IMCA Hobby Stocks.

A huge fireworks show will also complete the evening.

For more information on the Salina Speedway:

Visit our website at www.racesalinaspeedway.com
Visit and Like our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/salinaspeedway
Visit and Follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/salinaspeedway1
© 2015 Microsoft Terms Privacy & cookies Developers English (United States)

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...