Jump to content

Independence Day weekend Tripleheader on tap


Recommended Posts

Independence Day Weekend Tripleheader on Tap!


WAYCROSS, GA (June 26, 2015) - The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will celebrate the Independence Day weekend with three events at three different venues. All three events will feature an action-packed program that includes: Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and a 50-lap, $10,000-to-win main event.

This blockbuster weekend begins on Thursday, July 2, when 201 Speedway in Sitka, KY, hosts the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for the inaugural running of the "Bob Miller Memorial." The nation's top dirt late model talents will battle a strong contingent of local and regional standouts at the historic, 3/8-mile oval. The Open Wheel Modified division will also be in competition. Jimmy Owens roared from his 17th starting position and survived a 3-wide battle for the lead with five laps remaining to win last year's event at 201 Speedway. For tickets and more information, visit: www.201speedway.net.

From there, the series will trek north to Zanesville, OH for the "Creno's 50" at Muskingum County Speedway on Friday, July 3. In addition to the high-speed, door-to-door racing action, the event will feature the area's largest fireworks display. Also on the racing card will be the Open Wheel Modifieds, Pure Stocks, and Four Cylinders. In 2014, Jimmy Owens became the tenth different winner in ten appearances by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series at Muskingum County Speedway.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will polish off the weekend with the "Independence 50" at Portsmouth Raceway Park in Portsmouth, OH on Saturday, July 4. Limited Late Models and Open Wheel Modifieds will run as support divisions. Scott Bloomquist returns as the defending winner of the "Independence 50." Further information is available at: www.portsraceway.com.

Jonathan Davenport, of Blairsville, GA, leads the current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship standings over four-time champion, Earl Pearson Jr. Defending champion, Don O'Neal is third, followed by three-time champion, Jimmy Owens. Two-time champion, Scott Bloomquist rounds out the top five in series standings. Sixth through twelfth include: Dennis Erb Jr., Steve Francis, Brandon Sheppard, Devin Moran, Jared Landers, Eddie Carrier Jr., and Chris Brown. Brandon Sheppard leads the current Lucas Oil Products Rookie of the Year chase over Chris Brown.

Track Information
201 Speedway
Phone Number: 606-265-5201
Tracks Promoter: Tony Sturgill
Location: 5434 Route 201, Sitka, KY 41255
Website: www.201speedway.net

Muskingum County Speedway
Phone Number: 740-819-4015
Track Promoter: Mike Ankrom
Location: 7985 Frazeysburg Road, Dresden, OH 43821

Portsmouth Raceway Park
Phone Number: 740-354-3278
Tracks Promoter: Donna Rayburn
Location: 25648 State Route 73, West Portsmouth, OH 45663
Website: www.portsraceway.com

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Tire Rule for All Three Events:
Left Rear/Fronts - Hoosier Rib 1300, 1425 (no white dots)
Right Rear - Hoosier 01, 04

Event Purse for All Three Events: $10,000 to win- 1. $10000, 2. $5500, 3. $3500, 4. $2750, 5. $2250, 6. $1800, 7. $1500, 8. $1300, 9. $1200, 10. $1100, 11. $1075, 12. $1050, 13. $1025, 14. $1000, 15. $950, 16. $925, 17. $900, 18. $875, 19. $850, 20. $825, 21. $800, 22. $800, 23. $800, 24. $800.

For the latest breaking news concerning the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the latest series standings, 2015 tour schedule, driver information, and more visit the official website at: www.lucasdirt.com.

Follow the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on your favorite Social Media outlets at: www.facebook.com/lucasdirt, www.twitter.com/lucasdirt, and www.instagram.com/lucasdirt.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...