Jump to content

Pierce powers to DIRTcar Summer Nationals win at Belle-Clair


Recommended Posts

Pierce Powers to DIRTcar Summer Nationals Win at Belle-Clair


BELLEVILLE, Ill. - June 24, 2015 - Bobby Pierce powered from pole to checkers on Wednesday night at Belle-Clair Speedway to earn his second DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of the season.


Pierce, who leads the tour's championship battle, held off Rodney Melvin midway through the 40-lap main event and fought off Shannon Babb down the stretch to earn the $5,000 victory.


Babb, whose two-race win streak ended with Pierce's win, Melvin, Ryan Unzicker and former Summer Nationals champion Brandon Sheppard rounded out the top five.


"It feels really good," said Pierce, of Oakwood, Ill., who also won last year's DIRTcar Summer Nationals event at Belle-Clair. "This is starting to become one of my favorite tracks. I'm really good at these little bullrings. You can get up on the cushion and get a good run off."


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals tour heads to Clarksville (Tenn.) Speedway on Thursday night.


Follow the Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/SummerNationals, or visit the series' websites at www.TheHellTour.com and www.ModifiedNationals.com.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Belle-Clair Speedway; Belleville, Ill.; June 24, 2015


A-MAIN (40 LAPS) - 1. (32) Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, IL ($5,000); 2. (18) Shannon Babb, Moweaqua, IL; 3. (27M) Rodney Melvin, Benton, IL; 4. (24) Ryan Unzicker, El Paso, IL; 5. (B5) Brandon Sheppard, New Berlin, IL; 6. (1S) Rick Salter, Auiston, IL; 7. (78) Chad Zobrist, Highland, IL; 8. (33X) Tim Manville, Troy, IL; 9. (C8) Timothy Culp, Sheridan, AR; 10. (21JR) Billy Moyer Jr, Batesville, AR; 11. (6K) Michael Kloos, Trenton, IL; 12. (91) Tyler Erb, New Waverly, TX; 13. (25) Jason Feger, Bloomington, IL; 14. (81JR) Jason Riggs, Harrisburg, IL; 15. (10) Daryn Klein, Fairview Heights, IL; 16. (38L) Ryan Little, Springfield, IL; 17. (87) Jason Zobrist, Highland, IL; 18. (16H) Mike Hammerle, St Charles, IL; 19. (1M) Jim Moon, New Florence, MO; 20. (4) Jason Suhre, Highland, IL; 21. (12B) Kevin Weaver, Gibson City, IL; 22. (7) Matt Weidner, Highland, IL.


HEAT RACE WINNERS: Rodney Melvin, Daryn Klein, Tyler Erb and Bobby Pierce

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...