Jump to content

Hughes brings home special Father’s Day NCRA Late Model victory


Recommended Posts

Hughes Brings Home Special Fathers Day NCRA Late Model Victory

Hutchinson, Kansas June 21, 2015 - With his father and grandfather in attendance, Enid, Oklahomas Kip Hughes kept the familiar family number #GO late model out front the entire distance to win the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products late model feature Fathers Day Sunday night at the famed Kansas State Fairgrounds in Hutchinson, Kansas.

Hughes started on the pole for the fifteen lap feature and after a spin by veteran Delbert Smith on lap one, it was green flag action the rest of the way. Kip, whos father David competed in many NCRA late model shows in the mid 80s and early 90s and fixture in and around the Enid area during that span, kept the rest of the field at bay the entire distance to claim his first ever series victory.

Eighth starting Randy Timms of Wheatland, Oklahoma worked his way through the field and would finish second while Ryan Gustin, a feature winner the previous night at Thunder Hill Speedway in Mayetta, Kansas, finished third. Joe Gorby put in a strong performance to come home fourth while Dan Smith rounded out the top five to earn Nesmith weekly racing points as well.

The two, eight lap heat races for the fourteen car field were won by Hughes and Dan Smith.

The next event for the NCRA/late model tour will be held on Independence Day weekend, Sunday night, July 5th for their annual trip to the Belleville High Banks Speedway in Belleville, Kansas

NCRA Late Models - Kansas State Fairgrounds/Hutchinson, Kansas - 06/21/2015

14 Cars

1st Heat: 1) Kip Hughes (Enid, Ok), 2) Chris Kratzer (Haysville, Ks), 3) Ryan Gustin (Marshalltown, Ia), 4) Randy Timms (Wheatland, Ok), 5) Delbert Smith (Wichita, Ks), 6) Justin Kinderknecht, 7) Damian Patocka (Enid, Ok)

2nd Heat: 10 Daniel Smith (Beloit, Ks), 2) Lyle Shepard (Manhattan, Ks), 3) Joe Gorby (Bartlesville, ok), 4) Eric Main (Hutchinson, Ks), 5) Dillon Rupe (Broken Arrow, Ok), 6) Chris Bratcher (Hutchinson, Ks), 7) Kurt Abell (Beloit, Ks)

A Feature: 1) Kip Hughes (Enid, Ok), 2) Randy Timms (Wheatland, Ok), 3) Ryan Gustin (Marshalltown, Ia), 4) Joe Gorby (Bartlesville, ok), 5) Daniel Smith (Beloit, Ks), 6) Lyle Shepard (Manhattan, Ks), 7) Chris Kratzer (Haysville, Ks), 8) Justin Kinderknecht, 9) Delbert Smith (Wichita, Ks), 10) Chris Bratcher (Hutchinson, Ks), 11) Dillon Rupe (Broken Arrow, Ok), 12) Eric Main (Hutchinson, Ks), 13) Damian Patocka (Enid, Ok), 14) Kurt Abell (Beloit, Ks)

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...