Jump to content

Traugott takes IMCA Modified Honors at Dodge City


Recommended Posts

Traugott Takes IMCA Modified Honors at DCRP


by Lonnie Wheatley


DODGE CITY, Kan. (June 20, 2015) – Woodward, Oklahoma’s Cole Traugott turned his Dodge City Raceway Park luck around by wiring the field to win Saturday night’s 20-lap IMCA Modified feature atop the 3/8-mile clay oval.


While Traugott snared his first DCRP win of the year, Colorado’s Angel Munoz bested the IMCA Sport Modifieds, Michael Pepper snared another IMCA Stock Car win and Reagan Sellard scored his first IMCA Hobby Stock triumph.


After suffering DNF’s in his previous pair of DCRP starts this year, Traugott started from the pole position and led all the way aboard the Ramirez Motorsports/Mary’s Liquor No. 9 to take his first Dodge City win since August of 2013.


Traugott weathered three cautions along the way to secure the win, the latest with just seven laps to go. “Patience is the name of the game,” Traugott explained afterward.


With Traugott out front, Hays, KS, shoe Dylan Sherfick worked his way from tenth to third by the 12th round then moved into the runner-up slot when Nick Link suffered front end damage and collected Clay Sellard in the process.


Sherfick was on Traugott’s decklid on the final restart with seven laps to go but was never able to mount a challenge. Making his first DCRP start of the year, past track champ Brendon Gemmill climbed from 12th to claim the show position with Kale Beavers and Randy Wilson rounding out the top five.


While Lamar, Colorado’s Angel Munoz has visited DCRP victory lane a number of times in past IMCA Stock Car feature, however Saturday night marked Munoz’ first IMCA Sport Modified triumph at the track.


Munoz started from the pole position as well and led all the way, though he had to fend off some serious challenges from reigning track champion Jeff Kaup over the final handful of laps to secure the win.


While Kaup worked forward from 11th to take second behind Munoz, Mike Appel raced from tenth to third with Jamie French and Jamie Hoskins also in the top five.


Bucklin’s Reagan Sellard was the third first-time winner of the year on the night by topping the 15-lap IMCA Hobby Stock main event.


After Will Bauer led the opening nine circuits before clipping an infield tire and spinning, Sellard slipped underneath Travis McLemore for the lead on the 12th round then held off Duane Wahrman and Cody Davis over the closing rounds to secure the win as Bauer worked back up to fourth.


While Traugott, Munoz and Sellard each enjoyed their first DCRP score of the year, the beat continued on in IMCA Stock Car action with Lakin’s Michael Pepper bagging his fifth win in six tries.

Pepper worked his way into second on the fourth round then took the lead away from Trevor Schmidt for keeps on the eighth round. While Pepper raced on to the checkered flag, Ron Hartman slipped underneath Schmidt for second in the final corner.


Action continues at Dodge City Raceway Park next Saturday night, June 27, with the Steve King Memorial featuring NCRA vs. ASCS Red River Region Sprint Cars and URSS/Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars.


Dodge City Raceway Park – June 20 Results:


IMCA Modifieds:


Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 9-Cole Traugott, 2. 1n-Nick Link, 3. 88j-Jack Kirchoff, 4. 66d-Dylan Sherfick, 5. A2-Randy Wilson, 6. 27-Grant Florence, 7. 3h-Ryan Heger, 8. 2L-Tracy Link, 9. 64-Jimmy Brozek.


Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 44T-Tanner Black, 2. 25-Kale Beavers, 3. 23s-Heath Myers, 4. 18-Austin Allen, 5. 7n-William Nusser, 6. 16-Kevin Gray, 7. 22T-Trent Gray, 8. 25b-Tom Beavers.


Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 85c-Clay Sellard, 2. G3-Brendon Gemmill, 3. 52-Clayton Hogie, 4. 29b-Briar Oelkers, 5. 01-Jesse Smith, 6. B21-Chadd Brown, 7. 57-Joel Lane. DNS: 75-Randle McRoberts.


“B” Main (12 Laps): 1. A2-Randy Wilson, 2. 7n-William Nusser, 3. 16-Kevin Gray, 4. 3h-Ryan Heger, 5. 01-Jesse Smith, 6. 22T-Trent Gray, 7. 57-Joel Lane, 8. 27-Grant Florence, 9. B21-Chadd Brown, 10. 2L-Tracy Link, 11. 64-Jimmy Brozek. DNS: 25b-Tom Beavers, 75-Randle McRoberts.


“A” Main (20 Laps): 1. 9-Cole Traugott, 2. 66d-Dylan Sherfick, 3. G3-Brendon Gemmill, 4. 25-Kale Beavers, 5. A2-Randy Wilson, 6. 18-Austin Allen, 7. 44T-Tanner Black, 8. 16-Kevin Gray, 9. 88j-Jack Kirchoff, 10. 22T-Trent Gray, 11. 57-Joel Lane, 12. 23s-Heath Myers, 13. 3h-Ryan Heger, 14. 27-Grant Florence, 15. 01-Jesse Smith, 16. 52-Clayton Hogie, 17. 1n-Nick Link, 18. 85c-Clay Sellard, 19. 7n-William Nusser, 20. 29b-Briar Oelkers.


IMCA Sport Modifieds:


Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 2m-Angel Munoz, 2. 71-Jessie Hoskins, 3. 92-Jeff Kaup, 4. 18-Kyle Wiens, 5. 13-Trent Kleweno, 6. 12-Kevin Tabor, 7. 65j-Josh Appel, 8. 55d-Don Strecker.


Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 8-Brian May, 2. 27g-Kamren Gruber, 3. 33k-Jason Lunow, 4. 37-Bart Baker, 5. 3d-Daniel Gottschalk, 6. 81T-Tristen Barton, 7. 3s-Adam Stenzel, 8. 2r-Adrian Ramirez.


Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 56m-Mike Appel, 2. 7j-Jamie French, 3. 08-Hunter McDonald, 4. 2c-Matthew Crowell, 5. 21j-Jeremy Sigler, 6. 97j-Jimmy Jenkins, 7. 11-Jason Dove, 8. 22p-Michael Pepper.


“A” Main (20 Laps): 1. 2m-Angel Munoz, 2. 92-Jeff Kaup, 3. 56m-Mike Appel, 4. 7j-Jamie French, 5. 71-Jessie Hoskins, 6. 8-Brian May, 7. 3d-Daniel Gottschalk, 8. 81t-Tristen Barton, 9. 21j-Jeremy Sigler, 10. 12-Kevin Tabor, 11. 2c-Matthew Crowell, 12. 33k-Jason Lunow, 13. 97j-Jimmy Jenkins, 14. 08-Hunter McDonald, 15. 3s-Adam Stenzel, 16. 27g-Kamren Gruber, 17. 37-Bart Baker, 18. 65j-Josh Appel, 19. 18-Kyle Wiens, 20. 13-Trent Kleweno, 21. 11-Jason Dove. DNS: 55d-Don Strecker, 22p-Michael Pepper, 2r-Adrian Ramirez.


IMCA Stock Cars:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 22p-Michael Pepper, 2. 2x-Trevor Schmidt, 3. 2z-Cody Zimmerman, 4. 55h-Ron Hartman, 5. 58-Kyle Tillery, 6. D44-Randy Dowell, 7. 33-Marlin Hogie, 8. 19-Brett Copeland.

“A” Main (12 Laps): 1. 22p-Michael Pepper, 2. 55h-Ron Hartman, 3. 2x-Trevor Schmidt, 4. D44-Randy Dowell, 5. 33-Marlin Hogie, 6. 19-Brett Copeland, 7. 58-Kyle Tillery, 8. 2z-Cody Zimmerman.

IMCA Hobby Stocks:


Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 2. 17-Will Bauer, 3. 007-Bryan Habiger, 4. 72T-Tobby Schield, 5. 7-Tom Reed, 6. 42m-Zack McLemore.


Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 26T-Travis McLemore, 2. 17w-Duane Wahrman, 3. 91d-Cody Davis, 4. 44b-David Berger 5. 51-Clint Long, 6. 7h-Corey Hacker.


“A” Main (12 Laps): 1. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 2. 17w-Duane Wahrman, 3. 91d-Cody Davis, 4. 17-Will Bauer, 5. 72T-Tobby Schield, 6. 26T-Travis McLemore, 7. 42-Zack McLemore, 8. 7-Tom Reed, 9. 007-Bryan Habiger, 10. 7h-Corey Hacker, 11. 51-Clint Long. DNS: 44b-David Berger.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...