Jump to content

Week 3 preview: Take two with the ASCS Sprint Cars at Salina Speedway


Recommended Posts

Week 3 Preview: Take Two with the ASCS Sprint Cars at Salina Speedway

by Dusty Wiegert

SALINA, Kan. For the fourth straight year the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series National Tour is ready to explode with excitement at the Salina Speedway on Friday June 19th.

And for the first time this season rainy weather is NOT expected tomorrow night!

Johnny Hollywood Herrera (Albuquerque, NM) leads the strong contingent of drivers from around the country, sitting at the top of the standings so far for the series. Aaron Reutzel (Clute, TX) is right on his heels, back seven points, with most recent series winner Wayne Johnson (Knoxville, IA) in third, 2013 race winner Seth Bergman (Snohomish, WA) in fourth, and last years winner Jeff Swindell (Bartlett, TN) in fifth. Tony Bruce Jr., Matt Covington, Blake Hahn, Kyle Bellm, and Brandon Hanks hold down the rest of the top 10. All these drivers plus local favorite Jon Freeman, Jordan Weaver, Kris Miller, and many more are expected to compete in the event.

The night will also be a special one for the BSB Manufacturing NeSmith Late Model division as racer and promoter Lonnie Smith will be honored throughout the evening. Smith raced for decades at the Speedway and was later promoter of the TORA Late Model series that visited the rack frequently. Two different feature winners (Darrick Klima and Chris Kratzer) so far this season have emerged in two events thus far with Klima leading the standings but only by two points over Kratzer and Daniel Smith. Delbert Smith and Dusty Leonard round out the top five.

A late addition to the schedule was the Auto House Mod Lite division. Their event will be for no points, but extra payout to the winner is on the line if twenty-five or more cars sign in for competition. If that happens a cool $500 will go to the winner, and if it doesnt a car will have the opportunity to take the last row challenge, starting at the back to win $400 if he can come through the pack. Defending Champion Justin Kinderknecht leads the standings after one event.

And for the first time since May 1st the M&H Motors IMCA Sport Compacts will finally be back on track. Ellis driver Randy Murphy took the checkered flag in the first ever sanctioned event at the Speedway for the division back on opening night, followed by Art Herzog, Art Bird, Dallas Dunn, and David Pfiester.

Another special occasion will be in memory of Allie Saum. The Salina Shockers will be holding fund raising and 50/50 contest to go towards the Allie Saum Memorial Fund.

Pit gates will officially open at 5:00PM tomorrow night with the grandstands open at 5:30PM. Hot laps will begin at 7:15PM with racing to follow.

Adult admission is only $15 while Kids 15 & under are FREE! Military both current and retired will be admitted FREE as well with ID. Pit passes will be $30.

For more information on the Salina Speedway:

Visit our website at www.racesalinaspeedway.com

Visit and Like our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/salinaspeedway

Visit and Follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/salinaspeedway1

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...