Jump to content

Davenport Wins Wayne Gray Memorial at Fayetteville


Recommended Posts

Davenport Wins Wayne Gray Memorial at Fayetteville


FAYETTEVILLE, NC (June 18, 2015) - Jonathan Davenport took the lead on lap 27, then sprinted away from the field to win the Dunn-Benson Ford Wayne Gray Memorial at Fayetteville Motor Speedway. The win makes his fourth consecutive in Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series competition.



Courtesy of LOLMDS PR

Davenport helmed his K&L Rumley Enterprises, TS Crane Service, Sundance Services, and Sundance Flowback Well Testing, Longhorn Chassis #6 to his sixth win this season with the LOLMDS and his eighth-straight overall victory. Earl Pearson Jr. led 22 laps of the 50 lap feature event and finished second. Steve Francis charged from ninth to place third. He was followed by Steve Casebolt and Ross Bailes at the line.

"Everybody started getting on the bottom, and it started to turn black. I came here last year, and I knew it was going to be close on tire wear. Tonight, we almost had a flat. At the end, I rode around just trying to conserve them. I can't thank Kevin and Leroy Rumley and everybody back at the shop. All of my crew and sponsors, a big thanks to all of them as well! This is just awesome!"

Justin Labonte; son of NASCAR driver, Terry Labonte; grabbed the lead at the start of the feature and held the point for the first five laps of the race.

Pearson started alongside Labonte and then forged ahead on lap six in the Carlton and Kemp Lamm-owned, Dunn-Benson Ford, Lucas Oil Products, Black Diamond entry.

Pearson was able to hold off Davenport until a few laps after a mid-race caution for Scott Autry. Davenport used the outside line to take the lead on lap 27 and never looked back.

Pearson was satisfied with his second place finish. "We had a good car tonight. On that last restart, I knew I wasn't going to be able to hold off Jonathan. He is on a roll, no doubt! We have to feel good about this performance tonight in front of my car owners, sponsors, and friends."

Francis was pleased with his solid third place finish. "The whole team has worked hard trying to turn our year around, and we have been making progress! If we keep running like this, we might be able to beat Davenport! I would really like to thank Clint Bowyer, Georgia Boot, Peak, Clements Racing Engines, and Barry Wright Race Cars.

Completing the top ten were Brandon Sheppard, Justin Labonte, Jimmy Owens, Johnny Pursley, and Eddie Carrier Jr.

The entire staff at Fayetteville Motor Speedway worked diligently to prepare the race track, however the track surface got away from them tonight. Before the feature, it was decided to award 100 show-up points to the entire field.

In preliminary action, Justin Labonte set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time amongst the 24 entrants, with a lap of 16.915 seconds.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt, www.twitter.com/lucasdirt, and www.instagram.com/lucasdirt.


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Race Summary, Thursday, June 18th, 2015
Dunn-Benson Ford - Wayne Gray Memorial - Fayetteville Motor Speedway - Fayetteville, NC






Race Statistics
Entrants: 24
Lap Leaders: Justin Labonte (Laps 1 - 5); Earl Pearson Jr. (Laps 6 - 26); Jonathan Davenport (Laps 27 - 50)
Cautions: Lauren Longbrake (Lap 1); Dustin Mitchell (Lap 5); Scott Autry (Lap 26)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: none
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: none
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisionals: none
Wrisco Feature Winner: Jonathan Davenport
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Brandon Sheppard (Started: 17th; Finished: 6th; Advanced 11 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Jonathan Davenport
Allstar Performer of the Race: Steve Francis
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jonathan Davenport
Rookie of the Race: Brandon Sheppard
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Durham Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Longhorn Chassis
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Kevin Rumley (Jonathan Davenport)
CV Products Fastest Lap of the Race: Jonathan Davenport (Lap 29 - 17.703 seconds)
Hot Rod Processing Most Laps Led: Jonathan Davenport (24 Laps)
PFC Brakes Tough Break Award: Lauren Longbrake
Time of Race: 28 minutes 02 seconds



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...