Jump to content

Billy Moyer Jr. pockets $10K for DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory


Recommended Posts

Billy Moyer Jr. Pockets $10,000 for DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory at Iowa's Farley Speedway



FARLEY, Iowa - June 17, 2015 - Billy Moyer Jr. dominated the DIRTcar Summer Nationals event on Wednesday night at Farley Speedway, leading all 50 laps and collecting $10,000 for the effort.


Moyer Jr., of Batesville, Ark., started the feature alongside polesitter Bobby Pierce. Pierce and Moyer Jr. are 1-2 in the DIRTcar Summer Nationals championship standings, but on Wednesday night it was Moyer Jr. who surged to the lead on the first lap and survived four restarts to claim his first victory of the 2015 tour.


Chris Simpson charged from sixth to finish second with Pierce, Shannon Babb and Chad Simpson rounding out the top five.


With Pierce winning Tuesday at Jacksonville Speedway and Moyer Jr. getting into the win column on Wednesday night, the championship battle has taken an interesting turn. Pierce's father, Bob, is a two-time DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion (1992 & 1995) while Moyer Jr.'s legendary father, Billy, is a six-time DIRTcar Summer Nationals champ (1993, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2001 and 2003). Should either of them win the crown, they would become the first championship-winning father-son combo in series history.


"I'm not going to lie, I want my name on that championship with my dad," Moyer Jr. said. "If we stay up front we'll keep going."


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to Illinois for the rest of the week beginning Thursday at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill.


Follow the Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter @SummerNationals or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/SummerNationals, or visit the series' websites at www.TheHellTour.com and www.ModifiedNationals.com.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Farley (Iowa) Speedway; June 17, 2015


A-MAIN (50 LAPS) - 1. (21JR) Billy Moyer Jr., Batesville, AR ($10,000); 2. (32S) Chris Simpson, Oxford, IA; 3. (32) Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, IL; 4. (18) Shannon Babb, Moweaqua, IL; 5. (25S) Chad Simpson, Mt Vernon, IA; 6. (21) Billy Moyer, Batesville, AR; 7. (24) Ryan Unzicker, El Paso, IL; 8. (25) Jason Feger, Bloomington, IL; 9. (29) Spencer Diercks, Davenport, IA; 10. (15K) Justin Kay, Wheatland, IA; 11. (98) Jason Rauen, Farley, IA; 12. (22) Charlie McKenna, Clear Lake, IA; 13. (3) Austin Dillon, Welcome, NC; 14. (22M) Darrel Moser, New haven, MO; 15. (1M) Jim Moon, New Florence, MO; 16. (58) Dave Eckrich, Oxford, IA; 17. (124) John Hahler, New Florence, MO; 18. (54) Mike Fryer, Freeport, IL; 19. (40) Joel Callahan, Dubuque, IA; 20. (C8) Timothy Culp, Sheridan, AR; 21. (58R) Ray Guss Jr., Milan, IL; 22. (0) Chris Keller, Adrian, MI.

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Chad Simpson, Billy Moyer Jr. and Bobby Pierce.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...