Jump to content

Three races, Three different states


Recommended Posts

Three Races, Three Different States

WAYCROSS, GA (June 15, 2015) - The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will take on three different race tracks in three different states in the week ahead. With over $130,000 up for grabs, all three events will feature a complete show of: Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and a 50-lap, $10,000-to-win main event.

The action kicks off on Thursday, June 18th, as the series makes its first visit since 2009 to the 4/10-mile oval of Fayetteville Motor Speedway, in Fayetteville, N.C. This epic event - dubbed the Dunn-Benson Ford Wayne Gray Memorial is sure to provide door-to-door racing action, lap after lap, as the stars of the LOLMDS battle a strong contingent of local and regional talents. The night will also feature: Fayetteville Motor Speedway Late Models, Diet Mtn. Dew Modifieds, Pure Street, and Super Street Divisions. For advanced tickets and more information, visit: www.fayettevillemotorspeedway.com.

Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C. will host the 17th Annual Grassy Smith Memorial on Friday, June 19th. The late Clarence "Grassy" Smith is known throughout the stock car racing industry for his contributions to motorsports and his keen engine building skills. Don O'Neal returns as the defending Grassy Smith Memorial Champion after he wrestled the lead away from Brandon Overton (with 14 laps remaining) to score the win in 2014. Support divisions at Cherokee Speedway include: SECA Late Models, Limited Sportsman, Crate Sportsman, and Stock 4. Further information is available at: www.cherokeespeedwaysc.com.

The weekend wraps up on Saturday, June 20th at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn. with the 2nd Annual Lucas Oil Ole Smoky Moonshine Classic. In 2014, regional standout, Casey Roberts was victorious after fending off a last-lap charge from Jonathan Davenport, in front of a record crowd, at the lightning-fast, 4/10-mile oval. The Limited Late Models and Street Stocks will also be in competition. For more information, visit: www.smokymountainspeedway.com.

Jonathan Davenport, of Blairsville, Georgia, leads the current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship standings over four-time champion, Earl Pearson Jr. Three-time champion, Jimmy Owens is third, followed by defending champion, Don O'Neal and two-time champion, Scott Bloomquist completing the top five in series standings. Sixth through twelfth include: Brandon Sheppard, Devin Moran, Dennis Erb Jr., Steve Francis, Jared Landers, Eddie Carrier Jr. and Chris Brown. Brandon Sheppard leads the current Lucas Oil Products Rookie of the Year chase over Chris Brown.

Track Information
Fayetteville Motor Speedway
Phone Number: (910) 223-RACE (7223)
Tracks Promoter: Jim Long
Location: 3407 Doc Bennett Road, Fayetteville, NC 28306
Website: www.fayettevillemotorspeedway.com

Cherokee Speedway
Phone Number: 864-489-1969
Tracks Promoter: Lennie Buff
Location: 153 Speedway Road, Gaffney, SC 29340
Website: www.cherokeespeedwaysc.com

Smoky Mountain Speedway
Phone Number: 865-856-8989
Tracks Promoter: Casey Moses
Location: 809 Brickmill Road, Maryville, TN 37801
Website: www.smokymountainspeedway.com

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Tire Rules
Fayetteville Motor Speedway:
Left Rear/Fronts - Hoosier Rib 1300, 1350
Right Rear - Hoosier 01, 03, 05

Cherokee Speedway:
Left Rear/Fronts - Hoosier Rib 1300, 1350
Right Rear - Hoosier 03, 05

Smoky Mountain Speedway:
Left Rear/Fronts - Hoosier Rib 1350
Right Rear - Hoosier 03, 05

Event Purse for All Three Events: $10,000 to win- 1. $10000, 2. $5500, 3. $3500, 4. $2750, 5. $2250, 6. $1800, 7. $1500, 8. $1300, 9. $1200, 10. $1100, 11. $1075, 12. $1050, 13. $1025, 14. $1000, 15. $950, 16. $925, 17. $900, 18. $875, 19. $850, 20. $825, 21. $800, 22. $800, 23. $800, 24. $800.

For the latest breaking news concerning the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the latest series standings, 2015 tour schedule, driver information, and more visit the official website at: www.lucasdirt.com.

Follow the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on your favorite Social Media outlets at: www.facebook.com/lucasdirt, www.twitter.com/lucasdirt, and www.instagram.com/lucasdirt.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...