Jump to content

Clash at the Mag preliminary highlights


Recommended Posts

Clash at the Mag Preliminary Highlights


COLUMBUS, MS (June 12, 2015) - Former Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champions, Jimmy Owens and Scott Bloomquist will make-up the front row for the Clash at the Mag on Saturday Night at Magnolia Motor Speedway. The event is sponsored by the Columbus Convention and Visitors Bureau and will pay $20,000 to win.

Owens was victorious in the opening heat of the night. On a track that had been saturated with afternoon rain, Owens sprinted to the lead and held off defending Clash at the Mag winner and Lucas Oil Champion, Don O'Neal to earn the pole starting spot for tomorrow night's main event. Dennis Erb Jr. charged from his ninth starting spot to take third. The final transfer spot went to Jimmy Cliburn, driving a Henry Cooper-owned car.

In his first visit to Magnolia [Motor Speedway], Devin Moran out-dueled sixth-place starter Eddie Carrier Jr. for the win. Moran will start third in the Clash at the Mag on Saturday night. Trailing Moran and Carrier was Bub McCool, who entered the event with six consecutive wins in the state of Mississippi. Brian Rickman grabbed the fourth and final transfer spot in the heat race.

The third heat was easily handled by Scott Bloomquist, who set a new track record in Miller Welder Time Trials earlier in the evening. Bloomquist fought off an early challenge from Brandon Sheppard to take the win. Henry Cooper and Steve Francis earned the final two transfer spots into the feature event.

The fourth heat was all Jonathan Davenport. The current LOLMDS point's leader led all ten laps for the victory. Jared Landers finished second, followed by Wendell Wallace, and Mike Marlar.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set a new Magnolia Motor Speedway Track Record and the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) amongst the 43 entrants, with a lap of 12.961 seconds. He became the first driver to at the track to clock in under 13 seconds in qualifying. Jimmy Owens set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 13.087 seconds. Jimmy Owens, Devin Moran, Scott Bloomquist, and Jonathan Davenport won their respective heat races.

There will be a Dirt Racing Outreach Service tomorrow in the General Admission Area from 4:30 - 5:15PM. An Autograph session with the drivers will begin at 5:30PM. Action on the track will begin at 7:30PM Saturday evening with B-Main Hot Laps, followed by a pair of 12-Lap B-Mains, and Hot Laps for the Heat Race Transfers. Capping off the weekend will be the 100-Lap Main Event.
For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt, www.twitter.com/lucasdirt, and www.instagram.com/lucasdirt.


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary - Friday, June 12th, 2015
Clash at the Mag - Magnolia Motor Speedway - Columbus, MS

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Jimmy Owens / 13.087 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Scott Bloomquist / 12.961 seconds ***NEW TRACK RECORD***


Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Don O'Neal, Dennis Erb, Jr., Jimmy Cliburn, Jason Hiett, Dwight Falcon, Jamie Elam, David Breazeale, Dylan Ames, Scott Dedwylder, Chase Washington

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Devin Moran, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Bub McCool, Brian Rickman, Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Chad Thrash, Earl Pearson, Jr., Chris Simpson, Robbie Stuart, Jamie Tollison, Justin McRee


Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Brandon Sheppard, Henry Cooper, Steve Francis, Randy Weaver, Jason Cliburn, Darren Joyner, Howard Means, Chris McElhenney, Rick Rickman, Leon Henderson-DNS


QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jonathan Davenport, Jared Landers, Wendell Wallace, Mike Marlar, Garrett Alberson, Chris Brown, Eric Cooley, Austin Arnold, Neil Baggett, Hunter Rasdon


Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Line Up (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer):




Visit Us on Your Favorite Social Media Outlets!

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...