Jump to content

More lead changes in DCRP championship battles


Recommended Posts

More Lead Changes in DCRP Championship Battles

by Lonnie Wheatley


DODGE CITY, Kan. (June 12, 2015) – As a season-high total of 120 cars filled the pit area last Saturday night at Dodge City Raceway Park, another three lead changes took place in the track’s championship points chases.

The rotation of leaders will likely continue with Saturday night’s round championship chase action that includes a full slate of DCRP Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.

While Clay Sellard and Cody Davis maintained their respective advantage in IMCA Modifieds and IMCA Hobby Stocks, the trio of new leaders include C.J. Johnson (Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars), Mike Appel (IMCA Sport Modifieds) and Michael Pepper (IMCA Stock Cars).

Saturday’s racing action that fires off at 7:30 p.m. features a general admission prices of just $10.

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:

Quinter’s C.J. Johnson moved atop the point charts after becoming the third different winner in as many DCRP Sprint Car features last Saturday. Johnson is just six points ahead of Cranston. Johnson is the only driver to finish among the top five in each of the opening three features with Cranston and Ray Seemann both with two top-fives.

Feature Winners: Luke Cranston 1, C.J. Johnson 1, Ty Williams 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. C.J. Johnson (Quinter, KS) 429, 2. Luke Cranston (Ness City, KS) 423, 3. Zach Blurton (Great Bend, KS) 403, 4. Ty Williams (Arcadia, OK) 380, 5. Brian Herbert (Dodge City, KS) 379, 6. Keefe Hemel (Dodge City, KS) 367, 7. Kris Moore (Dodge City, KS) 353, 8. Jeremy Huish (Jetmore, KS) 340, 9. Koby Walters (Liberal, KS) 330, 10. Cody Lampe (Jetmore, KS) 308.

IMCA Modifieds:

Jesse Richter brought a stop to Clay Sellard’s early-season run of perfection, but Sellard still holds a 39 point advantage over two-time and defending track champ Austin Allen. The only position change among the top five was William Nusser leapfrogging Ryan Heger for fourth while the bottom half of the top ten shuffled up throughout with Jack Kirchoff breaking into the top ten.

Feature Winners: Clay Sellard 3, Jesse Richter 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Clay Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 579, 2. Austin Allen (Goddard, KS) 540, 3. Jimmy Brozek (Stafford, KS) 509, 4. William Nusser (Larned, KS) 495, 5. Ryan Heger (Hugoton, KS) 478, 6. Kevin Gray (Ulysses, KS) 460, 7. Brad Keller (Dodge City, KS) 454, 8. Danny Keller (Dodge City, KS) 448, 9. Kale Beavers (Pierceville, KS) 427, 10. Jack Kirchoff (Garden City, KS) 403.

IMCA Sport Modifieds:

Another week resulted in another lead change as Clay Money became the fourth different winner in as many events last week. Model of consistency Mike Appel claimed a two-point advantage over reigning champ Jeff Kaup. Appel earned runner-up honors last week to go along with previous finishes of fourth, sixth and third.

Feature Winners: Josh Appel 1, Jeff Kaup 1, Clay Money 1, Jeremy Sigler 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Mike Appel (Dodge City, KS) 556, 2. Jeff Kaup (Woodward, OK) 554, 3. Josh Appel (Dodge City, KS) 527, 4. Kevin Tabor (Dodge City, KS) 523, 5. Kamren Gruber (Great Bend, KS) 495, 6. Jason Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 470, 7. Brian May (Spearville, KS) 463, 8. Darren Coyle 442, 9. Michael Pepper (Lakin, KS) 432, 10. Jeremy Sigler (Great Bend, KS) 398.

IMCA Stock Cars:

After surrendering the points lead the previous week, Michael Pepper responded with his third win in four tries to recapture the top spot by 19 points over previous leader Ron Hartman while Randy Dowell jumped a pair of positions to third.

Feature Winners: Michael Pepper 3, Jason Rogers 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Michael Pepper (Lakin, KS) 576, 2. Ron Hartman (Ulysses, KS) 557, 3. Randy Dowell (Ulysses, KS) 537, 4. Brett Copeland (Fowler, KS) 512, 5. Kyle Tillery (Beaver, OK) 507, 6. Chris Oliver (Garden City, KS) 495, 7. Marlin Hogie (Ulysses, KS) 489, 8. Dusty Witthuhn (Bazine, KS) 424, 9. Trevor Schmidt (Hays, KS) 228, 10. Mel Halling 174.

IMCA Hobby Stocks:

Cody Davis reeled off his fourth consecutive top-five finish to extend his lead to 23 points over Reagan Sellard while Clint Long moved into a tie for third with Zach McLemore.

Feature Winners: Cody Davis 2, Matt O’Hair 1, Cody Williams 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Cody Davis (Bucklin, KS) 576, 2. Reagan Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 553, 3. (tie) Zach McLemore and Clint Long 492, 5. Tom Reed (Kalvesta, KS) 480, 6. Matt O’Hair (Laverne, OK) 436, 7. Tommy Fose (Salina, KS) 390, 8. Cody Williams 285, 9. Jason Cleveland (Minneapolis, KS) 264, 10. (tie) Michael Penrod (Moscow, KS) and Bryan Habiger (Ingalls, KS) 255.

General admission tickets to Saturday’s action are just $10 for adults, with children 11 and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult. Pit admission is $30.

The 2015 slate of events at Dodge City Raceway Park includes 15 nights of competition with a number of special events along the way, highlighted by the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars Boothill Showdown on July 3-4.

The track’s full slate of events is available at http://www.dodgecityraceway.com/schedule/.

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south. For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check www.dodgecityraceway.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...