Jump to content

Davenport Dominates Ralph Latham Memorial


Recommended Posts

Davenport Dominates Ralph Latham Memorial


UNION, KY (May 30, 2015) - Jonathan Davenport dominated the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned Ralph Latham Memorial main event on Saturday Night at Florence Speedway. Davenport led all 50 laps in his K&L Rumley Racing; Longhorn Chassis to win for his first ever victory at the 1/2-mile oval.


With less than five laps to go, Earl Pearson Jr. drove around Scott Bloomquist to claim second. Bloomquist finished third, followed by Jared Landers and Steve Francis rounding out the top five.


"I have never run well here," said Davenport in Lucas Oil Victory Lane. "I haven't been here since 2012, when I ran for Rookie of the Year on the Lucas Oil [Late Model Dirt] Series tour. Obviously, this is first time here in this Longhorn car, and it was just flawless. I ran the top for most of the race, and then on that restart, I decided I was going to go low, and the next thing I knew Scott [bloomquist] was right beside me, so I quickly went back to the top."


"They have changed the track some since I have been here. After the rain, they had this afternoon, the track was super fast. Beating Scott in that heat race was really big for us to get the outside front row starting spot. "I would like to thank all of my sponsors: TS Crane Service, Sundance Services, Sundance Flowback Well Testing, and Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas; without all of them we couldn't do this, that's for sure!"


"I am still sore today from the barrel roll we did at Tazewell last night," said Earl Pearson Jr. following his runner-up performance.


"Thanks to Ronnie Stuckey for building such a safe racecar. The cage held up like it was supposed to. To come out here tonight and run as well as we did, I just can't thank this Dunn-Benson Ford team enough. Everybody racing up front gave each other plenty of racing room. Scott could have cut me off coming off of four when I went around him, but he raced me clean. I'm so thankful to Lucas Oil Products, Midwest Sheet Metal, Sunoco Race Fuels, Moree's Enterprises, and Ohlins."

Bloomquist had one shot at passing Davenport for the lead after the final restart of the race, but could not clear him. "Our car fired really well on that last restart and he changed the line he had been running. I was able to pull alongside of him, but he shot right back by me. Congratulations to him again; that's two nights in a row he has gotten the job done. I want to thank Reece Monument Company, Mark Martin Automotive, Crop Production Services and everyone who has come on board this year."

Completing the top ten were Brandon Sheppard, Jimmy Owens, Dennis Erb Jr., Devin Moran, and Eric Wells.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) amongst the 41 entrants, with a lap of 15.125 seconds. Earl Pearson Jr. set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 15.142 seconds. Earl Pearson Jr., Jimmy Owens, Jonathan Davenport, and Don O'Neal won their respective heat races. Josh Rice and Eddie Carrier Jr. won their respective B-Mains.


For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt, www.twitter.com/lucasdirt, and www.instagram.com/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Race Summary
Saturday, May 30th, 2015
Ralph Latham Memorial
Florence Speedway - Union, KY


Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Earl Pearson Jr. / 15.142 seconds

Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Scott Bloomquist / 15.125 seconds

Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Earl Pearson, Jr., Devin Gilpin, Dustin Linville, Steve Casebolt, Josh Rice, James Rice, Robby Hensley, Cody Mahoney, Jason Jameson-DNS, Mason Combs-DNS


FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Mike Marlar, Duane Chamberlain, Scott James, Skylar Marlar, John Blankenship, Chad Stapleton, Bump Headman, Jesse Lay, Bill Blair, Jr.

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jonathan Davenport, Scott Bloomquist, Jared Landers, Steve Francis, Devin Moran, Nick Latham, Michael Chilton, Dennis Erb, Jr., Matt Westfall, Ted Nobbe, Tom Webster

QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Don O'Neal, Brandon Sheppard, Eric Wells, Chris Brown, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Greg Johnson, Tommy Bailey, Dustin Nobbe, RJ Conley, Kent Robinson

Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Josh Rice, John Blankenship, James Rice, Jason Jameson, Bump Headman, Jesse Lay, Mason Combs, Skylar Marlar, Chad Stapleton, Bill Blair, Jr., Robby Hensley-DNS, Cody Mahoney-DNS

Keyser MFG B-Main #2 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Eddie Carrier, Jr., Greg Johnson, Devin Moran, Nick Latham, Michael Chilton, Kent Robinson, Dennis Erb, Jr., Matt Westfall, Tommy Bailey, Dustin Nobbe, Tom Webster, Ted Nobbe, RJ Conley-DNS


Feature Finish (50 Laps):




Race Statistics

Entrants: 41

Lap Leaders: Jonathan Davenport (Laps 1 - 50)
Cautions: Greg Johnson (Lap 3); Eric Wells (Lap 12); Dustin Linville (Lap 16); Don O'Neal (Lap 20); Steve Casebolt (Lap 32)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisional: Dennis Erb Jr.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisionals: Michael Chilton
Florence Speedway Track Provisional: Bill Blair Jr.
Wrisco Feature Winner: Jonathan Davenport
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Dennis Erb Jr. (Started: 23rd; Finished: 8th; Advanced 15 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Jonathan Davenport
Allstar Performer of the Race: Earl Pearson Jr.

Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jonathan Davenport

Lucas Oil Products Rookie of the Race: Brandon Sheppard
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Durham Race Engines

Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Longhorn Chassis

Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: John Pfeffer (Earl Pearson Jr.)

CV Products Fastest Lap of the Race: Jonathan Davenport (Lap #3 - 16,456 seconds)
Hot Rod Processing Most Laps Led: Jonathan Davenport (50 Laps)
PFC Brakes Tough Break Award: Dustin Linville

Time of Race: 40 minutes 24 seconds

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...