Jump to content

Davenport dashes to WoO LMDS victory Lane at Tazewell


Recommended Posts

Davenport Dashes to Victory Lane at Tazewell


TAZEWELL, TN (May 29, 2015) - Jonathan Davenport took the lead on lap 35 from Scott Bloomquist and led the rest of the way to win the Toyota Knoxville 50 on Friday Night. It was Davenport's third Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season, and came before a record crowd at Tazewell Speedway.



Courtesy of World of Outlaws PR


Davenport held off a hard charging Bloomquist in the closing laps to score a popular victory in the K&L Rumley, Longhorn Chassis. Defending series champion, Don O'Neal, Steve Francis, and Jimmy Owens completed the Top-5.

"That was pretty exciting, wasn't it," said the winner in Lucas Oil Victory Lane as the crowd roared wildly in saluting his come from behind victory. "I just love running here! I couldn't wait to get here today, and to top it off, my dad was here to watch us run. He rarely gets to come to the races, so it was great to get the win for Rumley and my dad."

"That top groove came into it. We struggled for several laps to get going. I was below the line I wanted to run several times and finally got up against the wall and the car took off, there was plenty of grip up there. A lot of the guys seemed to stick to the bottom and middle and that left the door open for me. I figured we were turning lap times considerably quicker than anybody. This Longhorn Chassis was just unbelievable, what else can I say? This is the first time Kevin and LeRoy have been here. I want to thank TS Crane Service, Sundance Services, Sundance Flowback Well Testing, and Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas."

Bloomquist took the lead at the start of the feature and quickly bolted away from the field. A red-flag came out on lap five for Series Point Leader, Earl Pearson Jr. who flipped several times in turn number three. Pearson escaped uninjured from his car, but his brand-new Black Diamond Chassis was severely damaged.

When the race resumed, Bloomquist continued to show the way with Francis running in second. Shortly after, Francis later saw his teammate O'Neal sweep by him to take over second. All eyes quickly locked in on Davenport as he was rapidly picking multiple cars at a time.

Bloomquist, O'Neal, and Davenport waged had a tremendous battle for the lead with Davenport taking second just past the halfway mark. Davenport then tried for five laps to get by Bloomquist, finally completing the pass for the lead on lap 35.

"I don't know where he came from," said Bloomquist, referring to Davenport. "I could feel our line going away in the last half of the race, I should have moved up to the top quicker than I did. He [Davenport] was around me before I realized it."

Completing the top ten were Jared Landers, Eddie Carrier Jr., Billy Ogle Jr., Jeff Wolfenbarger, and Donald McIntosh.


In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 25 entrants, with a lap of 10.926 seconds. Chad Ogle set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 11.243 seconds. Scott Bloomquist, Stacy Boles, Steve Francis, and Jimmy Owens won their respective heat races.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt, www.twitter.com/lucasdirt, and www.instagram.com/lucasdirt.


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Race Summary, Friday, May 29th, 2015, Toyota Knoxville - Tazewell, TN - Tazewell Speedway - Tazewell, TN

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Scott Bloomquist / 10.926 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Chad Ogle / 11.243 seconds


Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, All Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Earl Pearson, Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Eric Wells, Donald McIntosh, Chris Brown, Brent Hensley

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, All Transfer): Stacey Boles, Jared Landers, Billy Ogle Jr., Brad Neat, Brian Smith, Wade Howerton-DNS

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, All Transfer): Steve Francis, Don O'Neal, Chad Ogle, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Brandon Sheppard, Tommy Bailey


QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, All Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Mack McCarter, Devin Moran, Dennis Erb, Jr.


Feature Finish (50 Laps):




Race Statistics

Entrants: 25
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Laps 1 - 34); Jonathan Davenport (Laps 35 - 50)
Cautions: Earl Pearson Jr., Brad Neat (Lap 2); Mack McCarter (Lap 7); Dennis Erb Jr. (Lap 43); Devin Moran (Lap 46)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisional: n/a
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisionals: n/a
Wrisco Feature Winner: Jonathan Davenport
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Chris Brown (Started: 21st; Finished: 11th; Advanced 10 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Don O'Neal
Allstar Performer of the Race: Jonathan Davenport
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jonathan Davenport
Rookie of the Race: Chris Brown
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Durham Race Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Longhorn Chassis
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Kevin Rumley (Jonathan Davenport)
CV Products Fastest Lap of the Race: Scott Bloomquist (Lap #5 - 11.573 seconds)
Hot Rod Processing Most Laps Led: Scott Bloomquist (34 Laps)
PFC Brakes Tough Break Award: Earl Pearson Jr.
Time of Race: 33 minutes 49 seconds


Lucas Oil Championship Point Standings:




*Points are unofficial until Close of Business on the Tuesday following Race Day*

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...